Might see ya down there Kev. Heading down after work myself.
Great report Mozza, had me laughin my a*se off...
Strika.
Might see ya down there Kev. Heading down after work myself.
gooid report mate,sounds like good time had.
If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!
Ahh ok, that is a bit farOriginally Posted by PandaBear
Last instalment.
Fished spot X for one barra at 67cm caught on an SP which is a first for this particular location. Dunno what sort it was; it was a new one I picked up from Tackleworld that looked like those baitfish we catch with jigs up here called locally "pilchards"
Got swiped once by a small 'cuda' that left a gash in the rubber and was absolutely destroyed by the barra. I seem to remember getting longer lasting sp's than that.
Still, got about 2kg of fillet off him which equates to about $40-$50 and a lot more fun than spending it at the nearest supermarket. Incidently, you can tell I forgot again to take the darn photo before I filletted it thus the 'loose' fitting skin draped over the frame.
Well thats it for this years barra fishing - might give the gear/boat/trailor a bit of TLC before heading out to get in amongst the salmon and grunter at Coco.
Mozza
Nice barra mate.
I went down to Apleins on Tues night, had a few drama's trying to get some bait. I eventually got a large herring and threw him out unweighted. I had a small hit then nothin, checked the herring and it's tail had been bitten off. Small Jack i reckon. Threw it back out, after about 15 mins there was a huge swirl right out in front of me, then my rod went off. Picked it up and twang, my fault, i did'nt tie my knot properly.
Spat the daummy baited back up and fished for another hour with out a touch.
Came home dissapointed, 3 months to wait.
Hey Kev, could'nt pm ya mate. Apparently i need to have made 10 posts
No worries Corry,
Before you know it you will have posted ten posts..............
I will try the rocks again tomorrow morning early before the wind gets up..............if it doesn;t rain. I usually use mullet from Aplins weir (salt side) as bait but I will try for herring towards the end of the breakwalls.
I am still very keen to catch a Jack so was thinking of visiting Giru on Sunday and throw off the banks somewhere...............never been there but there is always a first time.
Happy fishing