Thread: Garretts still smilen,another glassy bay

Garretts still smilen,another glassy bay

Well who would believe we'd have another glassy bay for another play session. My oldest boy who doesn't fish as much nowdays( girls and mates) grew up spinning for tuna and mackeral and always gives his younger brother the good old days stories. So my youngest bloke garrett is looking foward to his first spotty season .I went without a boat for about7 years and for the past 10 months of owning the little 4.3 he's been having a ball. After last week and some success with the tailor , he was keen to forget the plastics and bait and have another go at the slugs for some high speed spinning . We left Wynnum ramp about 6 and went straight to Mud where we found fish within minutes. Garretts second cast brought him success with a solid mac tuna who gave him a bit of stick . I new that after that first run and the reel screaming and the look on his face, you would have thought he'd just won lotto. Now over the last 10 months he's caught some pretty good fish and heaps of different spieces to but today was priceless. He was like a duck to water as he jumped around the boat with the rod half in the drink clearing the motor leg as these speedsters gave him a work out. He has caught bonito before but these little mac tuna had the young bloke weak in the knees after his first capture. It wasn't long before he had three under his belt and he was kind enough to give his old man a shot and i landed one. It was a dam good morning and i'm sure he wont forget that for a while. I know when we get onto some spotties this young bloke is ready for some summer action. I think as the changing of guards of speices and fishing is a bit flighty ,more people tend to think of the surface fish as a option. this morning we had a few boats trieing to troll or have a cast at the schools. Sit back and have a look at which way the fish are feeding ,and try to get your boat in a position not to spook the fish, charging in from behind tends to put the schools down. Usually any thing charging in from behind is a predator and that tends to break up the frenzy and they'll naturally flight. Anyway another beautiful morning on the water a few fish and a great way to spend a few hours with the boy.

Re: Garretts still smilen,another glassy bay

They are soime great looking macks. Well done, it sounds like an enjoyable morning

nice fish looks like some well cared for table fish in that lot, it def helps to bleed the mactuna before eating im told

cheers'dog

Good report with some good tips thrown in. Thanks.

Oh yeah!! #Bring on the speedies.

There's nothing like that sound of light line leaving the reel at a serious pace and mack tuna can give it serious stick. #Three decent fish like those must have had the youngster woubbly at the knees

Great stuff and I'm sure the look of enjoyment on your lads face was priceless

Nice work Chief. Looks like the young lad may get a chance to lay off the weights in the pre-season eh? With the work out those macs would be giving his arms he'll be a big boy come March 07.
    Top report and quality looking fish mate.

Rich

Great report - and yes, there is nothing quite like the look of success on a young lads face! That's what keeps me going when I take my boys out!! (mind you, I DO wasnt to catch MY fair share as well!!!)

lawry

Good on ya Garret!!! Chief... I was thinking to myself and out loud - with the absence of macs and birds on the Goldy that they might have been in the bay - Glad someone got onto them - we sure didnt! What slugs/metal and size did the damage? Raiders?

We'll have to do that run sometime mate and get onto a few speedsters.

Adam

g/day adam ,just useing prickley pete's slugs 30 grm normal and a 50 grm short and fat profile .young bloke was using the 50 grm and it seemed to have the better success. Went yesterday arf to stock up on a few slugs and found out that prickley pete had passed away and they weren't sure if you'd be able to get them in the future.
    Richie, he loves the gym and he's been making some gains, apart from fishing all he talks about is next years footy season.
    Moondancer, i know what you mean but yesterday,it felt more important to persist and get him on the fish. He learnt a lot

great report and some nice macks there mate

cheers dave

Terrific report, Chief I am in constant admiration of the success that you and Garrett (and your uncles too in one case) have been having in that boat.

Well done!

suzy81

jeez i love those little nuggets!.....damn this work crap,need to get out there!!!!.....good fish mate.
    ............jez...........