Moreton Bay 11/11 - Bummer!!!!!!

Thread: Moreton Bay 11/11 - Bummer!!!!!!

marlinqld

Moreton Bay 11/11 - Bummer!!!!!!

Well in at Whyte Island we went just before 4am. Headed out to what looked like a perfect day for boating.

This short video is leaving the mouth of Brissy River I think just after 4am. Shot past the Pacific Sky that was coming in - you cant see her in the video but she was going in.

Well shortly after we left the mouth, at around the 4th beacon out, the damn sounder decides its going to retire.......PERMANENTLY!!!. Bugger Bummer, flying blind now. And it's hard enough targeting stuff without losing a sounder

The short and curlies of the day is thus: 1 whiting, nothing else, thats that and so life goes on.

On the upside, ran across scalem and poodroo off Mud Island. Was a pleasure meeting you guys, you had a great catch. WAit for their report to be posted.i am insanely jealous.

However, no use stressing.. Sounders die so cant be helped. Put a new one in and try again next trip.

At least we still had a great days boating. Oh yeah, had some fun chasing schools of tuna - one hook up and bitten off, they were very skittish and didnt seem to be too hungry.

Next Time Fishies.....next time

Re: Moreton Bay 11/11 - Bummer!!!!!!

Unlucky Mike, but I'm sure you'll make up for it next time.

Those conditoins couldn't get much better, shame the fish wouldn't play the game for you.

There's always next time

Pitsta

Bad luck mike , We had similar conditions on the coast !!!

Yep that's fishing for you. Salt water and eletronics are such a wonderful mixture

At least it looks like you would have had a good day on the water with those conditions.

No fish Still beats working.

marlinqld

Cheers guys. Still loved being out there. Not so much the cost money wide of the sounder dropping its guts. More the fact that it made the morning nigh on impossible. Without the sounder cant read the bottom, cant see bait fish schools...makes it ever so hard.

But all in all being out there is great, i wasnt disappointed really, still bro in law was out there in in his new 20ft bow rider, so had to follow him anyway for his first trip out.

Hopefully might get it fixed this arvo and maybe have another shot at them tomorrow morning.

PS.......wont spoil it, but looking forward to scalem/poodroo report later thisarvo. Pleasure neeting them and geting a couple of tips from them.......thanks to both of you

I know how you feel Mike, put in 5 hours at the beacons from first light for zilch, just a couple of unstopables which i'm pretty sure were sharks??? going to gear down & search for some diver whiting tomorrow.. Cheers...

Mike it sure was great meeting you today. Sorry your day was plagued with bad luck but we have all had days like that I'm sure. Scalem is working on a report at the moment . Better luck next time and perhaps we can bump into you again some time out there.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

MM - next time mate!! Hey....at least you got out there today - we had every intention...then the missus had a word about the volume of 'will get to it soon' type jobs ....and she was fair dinkum!! Hopefully out there early for a few hours tomorrow!

Lawry

marlinqld

Ya get days like that Poodroo..........i have VMR next satdy, so gives me 2 weeks to get new sounder, then look out. Am actually looking at maybe a new gps plotter/sounder combo to replace it.

That will give me a couple of trips here to get used to a new combo before holidays at Hervey Bay over xmas.

Hey Mike... Sorry to hear that mate... I was intending on titling my report (in offshore section) "Should have followed Marlin Mike" - was planning it all day... but had to change it after I read your post

At least you have a great excuse to go shopping for new toys now....

Adam

Bugger about the sounder - but what a weekend, best we have had in ages, and where was I - stuck up at Mapleton for a wedding for the whole weekend (typical). Still was a great weekend for a wedding and heres hoping seabreeze holds true for what it is predicting now for next weekend and I will be out from friday night til sunday afternoon

Shane