Thread: Wello pt sat 11\11

Wello pt sat 11\11

My brothers and my old man and i went out off Wello pt in a couple of 4.2 blue fins. Scored a slatey bream(or i think it was) and a gold spot cod about 10kg(90cm). Had a big run had to drop anchor and chase but just was to big could`nt get the bugger up,line parted company soon after. My brothers scored a nannygai or scarlet sea perch(not sure) gold spot cod a large bronzey (released) spotty mack (hooks pulled at boat) plenty of squire (undersize). Good day glass-out good stuff.

Will try to get some pics up in next couple days

Avast ye matey!

Re: Wello pt sat 11\11

Looking forward to the pics, Sounds like a great day fishing

Nannygai off Wello?? cant wait to see the pics of that!!!

Sounds like a good day and a very mixed bag... on ya!!

Adam

For_Steve

Nice selection of fish caught. Looking forward to the pics. Thanks for the report.

Quote Originally Posted by Adamy
    Nannygai off Wello?? cant wait to see the pics of that!!!

Adam
    My little feller has caught 3 keepers in the last couple of years, well I think they're nannygai........all hard up against chain bank over clean sand I'll be buggered if I know what they're doing there!

Sounds like you had a top day Dave, shame about the missed biggy.

Here's the pix. Sorry don't have photo of my brothers fish. I think it was a scarlet sea perch???. I thought what the hell was it doin here.

Avast ye matey!

aquarius

Thats a ripper of a cod there mate....well done.
    What depth did it come from if you don't mind me asking?
    Those other fish the young fella has is a RED BULLSEYE AND A JUVENILLE SAMSON OR AMBERJACK.
    Wello reef is full of surprises and i have caught a few of these over the years.
    Cheers Brent

Brent
    The cod was in bout 13 meters plenty of small squire and sweetlip about as well.

Avast ye matey!

Wow! Nice fish!

Congrats on a great day out!

Lovely cod!!

Richie

good work mate, nice fish

Well done mate. Beaut Cod!!
    We hit Wello early and ended up with a 60 and 50cm squire, plus the normal throwbacks. It was pretty quiet compared to normal, but the tides werent the best.

Beefaman
    Some good squire there. Things slowed when the northerly picked up.

Avast ye matey!

Nice fish Dave! Question though... 13M of water must have been some distance out from Wello?! I fish the ledge and it doesn't get much deeper than about 8-9m - hence you must be out further?

Were you using baits or SP's? Either way, top cod (probably the one ADAMY got bricked by a few weeks ago )...

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Gday T

We were out about a bit further. We got it on a pillie/squid cocktail. Haven't fished that spot before,keen to get back there and have another crack.

Cheers Dave.
    Avast ye matey!