Thread: Fishing at the Woodburn bridge?

Fishing at the Woodburn bridge?

Anybody got the oil on what's going on there at the moment - whiting/jew? Please feel free to PM if you feel that's best.

Steve_Monckton

Re: Fishing at the Woodburn bridge?

Hi Tony, It is pretty quiet from what I hear, but as good as anywhere else at the moment. A few bass above the bridge on lures, the odd flathead and whiting below. Try Broadwater with nippers. cheers, steve.

Thanks Steve - sent you a PM

gday tony heard theres a few skinny whiting up there!not much happening down our end.went from ballina to boundry crk with not much luck.will try further up this w/e.do you know if its any good ? cheers ida

Weve done ok last few trips in the lower regions. Just got to get out of the main river and into the creeks. Thats where the fish are.
    Saw some cracker Whiting on Sunday morning in the shallows a few of which were giving 50cm's+ a good push!!!

Joe

themisses

Saw some cracker Whiting on Sunday morning in the shallows a few of which were giving 50cm's+ a good push!!!

Joe[/quote]

Hmmm, Might have to pay the old's a visit. Now were would those shallows be now??
    Cheers Kim.

Kim You and Rod take me for a fish on the richmond and ill lead you straight too them!

Hey Joe

That's exactly what I'd heard - real snodger whiting. Are they the standard sand whiting @ 50 cms?!!!

Ida - I have only heard 2nd hand - don't know anybody personally who has been cleaning up. There have been a few boats there every time I've been past. Must be something going on.

themisses

Hey Joe!! Done!! If the bay is yuck will give you a hoy!!

Quote Originally Posted by Tony_N
    Hey Joe

That's exactly what I'd heard - real snodger whiting. Are they the standard sand whiting @ 50 cms?!!!

Ida - I have only heard 2nd hand - don't know anybody personally who has been cleaning up. There have been a few boats there every time I've been past. Must be something going on.
    Hey Tony, Yea mate Sand whiting big schools of them moslty normal sized fish but every school at 2 or 3 BIG fish. We were checking out a creek id sussed out for Jacks months ago seeing if it was possible to go in at Lowtide (which it was...just) These guys were just cruising around in 0.5m of clearish water could see them clear as day only a few metres from the boat!
    They wouldnt take a placcie as it was middle of the day and very bright but i highly doubt they could refuse an unweighted Yabbie thrown infront front of there noses early morning or late in the arvo.
    No where near Wood burn though.

Joe

Quote Originally Posted by themissus
    Hey Joe!! Done!! If the bay is yuck will give you a hoy!!
    Sounds good Have to Take Belinda to the airport on Saturday arvo but im free saturday arvo after about 3ish and all day Sunday.

Joe

gday joe hows the little motor going ?that creek wouldnt be the 1 you told me were to catch them jacks ?yeh tony ive only heard 2nd hand have seen boats there everytime ive been past.will go try somewhere sat & sun.might find a fish somewhere. cheers ida