Thread: Barra Park today

Barra Park today

I have been meaning to have a go at the Barra park at Bli Bli for years and a 2 hour break between jobs came up today and it was just down the road.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I caught my first ever Barra, and boy, did it go hard. For the record it was about 85cms and weighed about 6-7kgs. The fish there are in great condition which is a credit to the operators. And yes, it was caught on a plastic (A 160 Javallon to be exact), and ten pound line. It put on a show with 4 or 5 awesome jumps only 15 feet in front of me and then took off for the other side of the pond. Fight lasted about 10 mins. Took another 5 minutes to revive him. Took the camera, but between getting caught up in the moment and trying to revive him, I forgot to get a photo. Caught 5 others between 2 and 4 kilos. Amazing fish and can't wait to go back. Maybe Saturday.

Foggy

Re: Barra Park today

call in and we will try some plastics in the passage

have driven past that park a couple of times,now i think i might stop in after reading you post, what a blast,good stuff.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

what does it cost??

Great work have driven past heaps but never been in am keen now.
    Bludog

great report foggy,,,, i had the full intention of being there yesterday myself,,,, was going to take chopjr for a special treat after his recent operation etc etc,,, but as ""murphy law"" has it,,, i didn't get back to the base until mid arvo and was welcomed by,,,,,,,,,,,

yeh you guessed it,,, rod/bucket/and bag sitting at front door,,,,with him inside waiting to go,,,

luckily the storm clouds were gathering,, and this also put a damper on the plan,,,

promised to go though either this sunday or coming wednesday,,,,,

sounds like plastics may be in order to keep him occupied,,,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Quote Originally Posted by Dylan_Rylatt
    what does it cost??
    From memory it is $25 for 4 hours or $30 for 6. Somewhere around there.

It is a great place ive bin there plenty of times. But don't be fooled they are smart barra. You can still go there and catch nothing if your unlucky. Midweek is definitely better than weekends though, there are too many fishing on weekends and the fish have bin overfed.
    daniel

Sounds like fun Foggy, never even knew it was there! Will have to try it out one day

MickyD

Froggy give a popper a go in the afternoon I think you`ll have a ball they really smack it hard and its not uncommon to see a few fish chasing your lure at once.Alternatively get yourself a 7wt fly rod and some pellet flies that`ll get your blood pumping!!!!!!!!!! My best went 98cm and 9.5 kg on the fly rod,best fun I ever had bank fishing that day bagged over 20 fish!!!!!!

Stack

aquarius

Graham that Barra park sure beats the 6 hours travelling to get to Awoonga.
    I caught my first Barra at the park about 6 years ago but only weighed a couple of kilos.
    They sure do have some fight in them and the acrobatics are awesome to watch.
    Looks like you've got the Barra bug now
    Did you have to crimp down the barb on your hook?
    What weight jighead did you use?
    7 kilos of barra and so close to Brissy....Onya Mate.
    Cheers Brent

Costs $40 For all day
    $ 35 For 6hrs
    $ 30 For 3hr Session

Brent,

I did not have to crimp the barb down but I did anyway to make for easy release. Jig head was 1/8 with 7/0 hook.

Yes it was $30 for 3 hours

Can't wait to go back. Maybe we should organise a meet and greet there. May even get a discount for a bulk booking.

Foggy

$35 for 6 hrs?? Thats cheaper than a run out to moreton and back in my boat - sounds reasonable.

Adam

Although I dont want to turn up here and see most of the weekly fishing reports have come out of the park

searaider

Geday Foggy ,
    Top effort on the Barra [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    An M & G up there mmmmmmmmm now that could be an idea .

Searaider 2