Gidday all again.
Sunday morning JasonT and I meet up with Kev (kingtin) and his son JJ (Kingcobe) at his place for a days fishing. We weren't sure were we would end up with the weather forecasters not knowing what’s going on but we were either going to be down the seaway or out the other side of Moreton Both options appealed to us and we were keen as mustard to get on the water! Kev tells us when we arrive that the weather reports had dropped the wind a little and he was keen to try and get offshore so that’s where we headed wohoo !! Out from Schlitz canal we headed over a bumpy bay for the north of Moreton. Now I have never been for a ride in a Whitley before, I have been on a similar sized plat boat and a 16’ fibreglass sportsman craft in the last year but OMG!!!!!!! Kevs boat rode the sloppy bay like nothing I have ever seen before We were half way over when we found a shallower section of the bay that was chopped up more that the rest and I could hardly notice a difference in the way she was riding the waves!! Around this stage Kev says to me how quick do you think we’re going? I didn’t have a clue but was sooo surprised when he said we were actually cruising at around 25knots!! It didn’t feel anything like that speed and certainly didn’t sound like the motor was pushing us that fast!! The Mercruiser inboard Purrs so softly we could have a conversation without raising our voices!!! What a boat!!!!!!!
We got just outside Moreton and were faced with pretty bad conditions so the decision was made to give “western rocks” (I think it’s called) a go. While Kev got the floaters setup I dropped my plastic to the bottom and within no time I get a touch!! I think to myself great!! The fish are here and on the chew well another touch and a hook-up produced a Grinner the same length as my plastic ok that’s not too bad, reef fish do hold around with Grinners sometimes.. Well 5 mins after Kev sets the floaters the one with a pillie goes off!! Jason was on it in a flash and started fighting something with a bit of go in it about a minute latter a lovely little schoolie gets gaffed at the side of the boat Well this is looking good we think as Kev resets the floater. About 15-20mins latter a bottom rig gets a couple of touches so I grab it and wait. Tap tap again. Tap tap, what’s this thing doing? Tap tap ok bugger this set the drag and into it hooked onto this thing that started to move away slowly. After about 10 mins we get a little colour and can see something jet black but with a white underside, is it a manta ray? We weren’t sure every time I got it close to the top it dove back again with slow but very powerful runs. After another 5 mins of fighting this thing Kev clips a gimble on me and dam!! These things work well I was able to give it heaps more and within a couple of minutes I get the biggest dam stingray I have ever seen beside the boat! It must have been about 5 foot across and near a foot through the middle (found it to be a tropical cow-tailed ray when we got home, one that can reach you with there barb if you grab them behind the eyes!! If you see a fin of sorts under the tail beware!!!!!!). After a bit of thrashing about Kev managed to get a hold of it and cut the hook off. This is when Kev decides to call me the Verminators apprentice Lol. Anyways JJ was managing a few whip tails that we were dropping down as livies but didn’t get taken . We persisted here for awhile longer for nothing else so the call was made to come inside Moreton and fish the Bulwer ledge. After a little trouble anchoring up we drop the baits down and watched the current bringing them back towards the surface in no time at all even a 1 ½ ounce jig head only hit bottom once before coming back up. We didn’t stay long before heading down over the top of Curtin for a sound and then on to the beacons to see if the Macs were still biting. On arriving we watch one bloke land a fair schoolie so anchored perfectly to float the baits near the beacon (Kev you sure know how to position your boat mate ). KingCobe starts bouncing a bait jig on the bottom and manages to catch a few yackas in among the baby squire, BIG Hearing and trumpeters. My first cast with the plastic was hit and bitten off > Kev drops a yakka down and it gets crunched within seconds but then after a blistering run it gets dropped? Wound in a headless and now dead yakka. Not long after we find out that this bloody dolphin was the culprit!! He was swimming around and around our boat waiting for the bait jig to come up and something to be released every time!! We didn’t manage to drop one live bait for more than 10 seconds before this bloody thing would hit it! But saying this we never actually hooked him, he would run for between 5 and 10 seconds every time and always remove the bait without getting hooked!! After watching this and the batfish everywhere we moved to Mud for a look. I managed a small schoolie on plastic but I don’t think we got anything else here?? Then we moved to one of the coffee pots out from the brissie river. Kev was sure we would get onto a shark or catfish or something here but after a good hour or so we caught nothing We decided to head home just after low not the best for coming back into Schlitz cannel but the wind was picking up and we actually had a couple of waves come over the back of the boat!!!!
Thanks heaps for the trip out Kev, we may not have got many fish but it was a very enjoyable day with you JJ and Jason on the water Please add anything I forgot or got wrong here, I am still suffering from 2 4:30am starts and a little too much sun as well as trying to get some work done
Cheers N
Tight Lines
Brandon…
Jason's Schoolie