PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Woody pt. reefs & Mouth of pine 25/11/06
Chloe and I headed out for a quick morning fish..
We got out to the reefs at woody point just after 4.30am and anchored up near a nice show of fish on the sounder. Dropped the berley over the back, and as Chloe didn't want to flick plastics I baited her up, she dropped it over the side and promptly began reading her book! (10 yo's! who knows how they think!)
I started throwing powrebaits around, changing them every few minutes.. I got bitten off a couple of times, and had one nice run, but dropped it! More practice required!
BrandonH and his Dad (John) Dropped over to say Hi and as we were chatting Chloe managed to hook a nice fish. We normally fish light, and she had 3kg mono all the way to the hook, so I was a little worried we'd lose it. She was happy for me to take it (she told me later she thought she'd lose her rod.), not that I even thought about it at the time! The fish had gone under the boat and I was concerned about being cut off. After Brandon and John kindly moved away a little (and I'd quickly passed the rod under the anchor rope.), we mananged to net a nice Estuary Cod. A first for us off woody point. :-)
Brandon and John headed off and we continued in the same spot for a while, but had no more bites.
I decided I felt like flathead for dinner so we headed off into the mouth of the pine river.
We sounded along until we found a likely looking drop off only a few metres from the bank. Threw ount a placcy and first cast managed a nice bar tailed flattie.
After that we were off to the ramp, and back home to give sea puppy a tub!
Nice catch mate Was good to see you land him while we were there!!! We only ended up[ with one cod for the morning Was quite a nice one at 45cms (pic and report comming soon ).
Am keen for another week night fish this week. I really need to get myself a Jack soon!!!!!!!!!!
I was out there that morning myself fishing just up from you both didn't realise who you were. I was in the white centre console "The Boat." We had a average morning caught 5 bream only 2 legal a 31cm squire which went back my to the disappointment of the old man but rules are rules plenty of moses perch and a whiting. It was a beautiful morning anyway. I would like to thank rainbow runner??? name of the boat on his trailer for the advice about mackeral fishing near the markers. Would of went out there but the old man is not to fussed on being that far out, he gets seasick very easy. He's on medication for cancer,so his system gets upset very easily. Anyway might catch you out there sometime soon. Basil2
I remember seeing "THE BOAT" out there my dad and i were in his 435 Hornet trophy and drifting heaps with another 4.2 tinny Another friend we meet at the ramp.
I think you came out wider and sounded around where we were anchored fishing?? anyways will drop over next time I see you out there and say gidday
I am normally in my tinny witch is a 3.7 Clark with lecky sticking up at the back
Just getting the odd fish out there at the moment, Jason. I was out early this morning and although I caught squire, bream, grass sweetlip and flathead not one of them was legal
Cheers Freeeedom
G'Day BrandonH, I was looking for otter rock. The old man reckoned that It wasn't where the marker is it was ment to be north of the marker by 200mtrs or so. But we couldn"t find any structure just a flat bottom,may catch you next time I'm headed out that way. Basil2
Hi Basil!
I saw "The Boat"! The name stands out well!
Obviously I need bigger stickers :-)
I'll drop over if I see you out there :-)
Brandon - I've been hearing the talk mate, But no stickers yet! Want me to have a chat with my old mate MR S. Claus? Maybe He'll drop them down your chimney!
Remember.. He doesn't like milk/biccies... Just Gulps and Powerbaits.. :-)
I'll have to get a bigger set of Tunas I Think! :-)
Thanks for that John.. Heading out tonight myself so look for another report! In the absence of a report assume no fish or shipwreck :-)
In the event of the latter, wait a few months then fish it!
Nice one Jason !! good to see the little one getting into the fishing at an early age mate
Would have loved to have been out there too, maybe one day soon.
Ii was down Tallabudgera camping with friends / family, only managed one keeper whiting from the shore all morning
No pictures, but he was 33cm long and FAT ! gave him to the visitors for lunch
Russ
If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?