Thread: Aplins weir over x-mas

Aplins weir over x-mas

Hi guys,

Been a while since I've posted a thread! Due to a number of reasons actually.
    a) work and uni
    b) 6 week holiday overseas - thailand and borneo (p.s they have barra, jacks over there too. they call barra - sea bass. i've got some photos which i will post up soon i hope)
    c) moving (locally for the time being, but will be in brisbane in by june 07).
    d) in between all that - there hasnt been a chance, we all know how it gets sometime.......something always takes a backburner.

2 short trips to aplins weir over the x-mas period. my parents live literally 50mtres away on the annadale side so i slipped over there armed with a gold bomber and some prawns and 2 little bro's in tow.

Result
    - very small jacks right in close under the rocks....there are heaps of them and after seeing those type of numbers i have to say the ross is looking in good shape.

Question - for those who have been down there and fished, what are those fish that are jumping out of the water frequently? sea mullet, tarpon? please advise

barra account is still 0 - even though the enemy hasnt been engaged for a while, i think the spell has done me the world of good, so look out come open season.

the noodles

Re: Aplins weir over x-mas

Noodle

I'm pretty sure they are mullet that keep launching out of the water. I've been down to the weir a couple of times myself recently flicking lures and picked up a couple of small jacks and a pike. There are plenty of bait fish and surface action but I think we need some rain to fire things up a bit.

Rainman

Hey guys,

Noodles, you live closer than I do (300m away).

My conclusion: mostly sea mullet but maybe the odd lively tarpon and/or milkfish and/or giant herring....?

I've been down fairly often over the past 3 months and can verify your observations: plenty of bait, plenty of small jacks, GT's, Tarpon and a couple of smallish barra thrown in all on livies (mostly the greenback herring).

Mozza

mozza,
    yeah mate, my parents live on riverpark dr.

i'll be based there on and off until june 07, when i'll be moving to brisvegas, i'll give you a shout when i head on down next.

hows the pickings been for you lately?