Thread: one of them days

one of them days

headed out to chase a few bay locals thursdy mornin with out my minn koota that decided to pack it in > after no joy on a wind drift of a few reefs close to redcliffe we decided to head over to the sandhills where all the action has been of late , on the way my sounder shit itself so it was gunna be a blind run for me and toddy. on arrival we were greeted by birds working scattered bait and heaps of other hopefull fisherman and tossers amoungst them. i managed a schoolie of average size on light plastick and toddy pulled the hooks on a huge spotty before a f-wit roared past us while we had the fish up on the surface and proceeded to throw out his anchor and put em down > at one stage we had a dozen or more big spotties under our lures but no takers. cast at a milllion fish b4 we decided to head back via tangas and look at a few beacons on the way home , didn,t get the camera out much but got a shot of a kingy that was huggin a pole and that was about it.
    cheers swano

Re: one of them days

Mate, what a great shot of the kingie. the spotties have been a little shy but there has been a lot of traffic on the water. Very similar to you on thursday went for a quick trip for 1 schoolie ,1 that took every thing and one fish i had heaps of trouble turning for a while on 10 kg i had the drag up and thumbing the spool, got the blissters on the thumb to show . a lot of line out and it hanging in some fast flowing water and it was see saw for a while until the knot went at the hooks. Dam

I've had Kingies like that behind the boat looking at floating pillies, like going right up to them and having a sniff and not even touching it, I think they look upon us as crazy.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Show me the Snapper!

Don't you just hate it when you have "One of those days?" I know I do. Better luck next time. Nice shot of the kingy!

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Obi___Wan

I reckon you still had a better day than you would have had if you had been hanging bloody doors or driving nails mate
    How did you go last Sunday? i saw you about half way up the strip, i fished up the top end and bombed out.
    Don't you just love those f**# wits that seem to drop in on you? they used to get me so cranky i would sometimes chase the b's and sort them out, now i have mellowed and keep away from the crowds.
    OBI_WAN

Swano,

Sorry to hear about your minn kota and sounder not playing the game. Got to agree it is frustrating when guys run right over the fish when you are on them- I dont know what they think. I was over that way on Friday- few boats and every one seemed to be considerate of others. Just takes one. Most of my luck was casting slim profile slugs 20-25gm- no wire. Some solid fish there. Would have been great the mack on a SP.

Still a day on the water- good