PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 to turbo or not
g'day ausfish members,
I have just recently brought new 5.3 plate ally and the old girl dont like to tow the new vessel. [the old girl is a 2.8 diesel hilux and can sniff those hills a mile away.] I am currently thinking of attaching a turbo, to get a little bit more. Can anyone tell me if they have done this or know of someone who has? Is it worth putting one on? [smiley=help.gif] chris
Tony Motson has a good name here in the Brisbane area. Turbocharging does shorten engine life but if you were to run relatively low boost pressure 6-10psi it wouldn't drastically shorten the life and would give you a noticable gain in power. I'm unsure of the compression ratio of the hilux engine you need to use a decompression plate to achieve the right compression ratio. However someone like motson's will have already done several and know what works and what doesnt. Good Luck
Vennus...I turbo'd my 2.8 Hilux about 2 years ago with 180000 on the clock...I picked up a turbo off a diesel pajero from a mate, built a manifold and oil feed then off to the exhaust shop...all up $80..The extra torqe up hills and towing is great. It gets 12 pound of boost
Id be gettin nervious if ya blowin over 7 lbs.More is better if ya are drag racin.They rebuild there motors after each run.not very practible in the runabout ute.Thats why ya need wastegates.
Ask the experts at a turbo shop.dont take my word for it.