Toyota diesels... What are they really like?

Thread: Toyota diesels... What are they really like?

Toyota diesels... What are they really like?

My old man is looking at purchasing a 1997 - 2000 hilux..

He has noticed that a lot of low mileage diesel hiluxes are being advertised that they have new engines in them...

Are the 2.8 & 3litre motors in these notorious for blowing up before 200 000 kms?

If so ... why...

If not .... Why are so many getting replaced early...?

Re: Toyota diesels... What are they really like?

G'day Adam,the 2.8 was considered a little weaker than the 2.4 becuase they were basicly a bored out 2.4,that is why Toyota didn't turbo them ex factory.they also had a problem droping the back cylinder due to thick oil.I know three people with 250k plus 2.8's they have had no dramas at all,the reason for this is simple,NEW filter and NEW oil every 5k no ifs no buts.I do find it interesting that the Japs don't use the 2.8 in Japan, they opt instead to fit turbo 2.4's in every thing.The hilux is a great vehicle their only downfall is the agricultural ride.

Sportfish_5

Banshee has it right there. Dont try and extend the oil change interval and check you air filter regularly. Did my apprenticeship as a Diesel Fitter and we had these as our field service trucks from 1988 onwards. Ride OK when you have some weight in the back and despite what some people say they are a pretty tough little truck

Gorilla_in_Manila

Adam,
    Yeah like the guys said. Drove one when I first stared working in aus that had 300,000 offroad km (built transmission lines for a job) on the clock, and still going ok. Regular maintenance by our onsite mechanic though, and good oil used, and filters always changed. Threw a big end bearing about the 350,000km mark though. Still, pretty good run.
    Think the other main mistake people make with them is they tow heavy stuff. Little motors just aren't designed for it and they will soon screw up. Occassionally towing a little tinnie or light box trailer ok, but if your looking at caravans or larger boats, your asking for trouble. In that case youd be better off with one of the old straight 6 cylinder diesels in the patrols or older cruisers.
    Best thing I found for improving the ride of a hilux, was to buy a land cruiser.
    No seriously, weight in the back helps for ride and back end grip, after market suspension even better but fat tyres is probably the real clincher in making it a better ride. Will never be A1 though.
    Jeff

Big_Kev

Adds Sci Fleet had some great deals on new 2003 model V6 duel cabs 33K drive away with air.
    Might be worth looking into.
    Cheers Kev.

Quote Originally Posted by Gorilla_in_Manila
    (built transmission lines for a job)
    Jeff, Who with?

Cheers, Kerry.

well i own a great little 3liter 5l desile hilux cab chassie and apart from wanting more power (but who dosn't) it is a gtreat pulling machine that is VERY relabile and gets me into everywhere i have wanted
    pull the southwind up the highway with little problems apart from being alittle slow

I just can't help myself I've been trying to hold off for weeks but I can't let it go on.

In answer to the above topic "Toyota diesels... What are they really like?"

Not as good as Landies

I kill myself I really do.

Bugman

Hi,

I have two mates that have just sold their 2.8 deisels
    and updated to 3.0. They are very happy with the new Hilux's
    and have NEVER had and trouble with the engines in either.
    I think the trick is the 5K oil changes without fail, if the boys were going on a trip up north and needed too, they would change it on the way.

There a good 4wd

Daniel

Ausfish Platinum Member jimbamb's Avatar

Read with interest .
    I had a 2.8 forerunner for 8 years.
    Changed oil evrery 10K with new filter.using Rimula X.
    Towed a 17 ft van around Aus 2 times.40k fitrst time 28k second.
    Never used a drop of oil and never put a spanner on it.
    Been a lot of places it was really tough goin.
    The only thing i never did was exceed 4000 rpm.
    Sold it with 350000km on clock an the bloke who bought it is still grinnin.
    Interesting aint it?????????

gday mate
    i have got an '88 2.8l deisel hilux. bloody tough ute. every where i go i thrash it and it still keeps going. it has 240,000klms on the clock. i gotta agree with the 5,000klm oil and filter change. only done a few bearings in the gearbox and one in the diff. both times i had to drive it about 100 kays home and it made it both times. if your not after a ute with the speed of a V8 supercar a hilux is the way to go.

bulletproof, i can't kill mine

Breamreeper

8) Gota 99 model 3litre. Oils change every 5 as said. Got 145 before timing belt. Never been stopped, Stockton, Fraser, Manning Point, Big and Little Gibber, Seal Rocks and so on. Best and most reliable 4by Ive had and that includes a 97 80 series that I traded on this car. I am off to Fraser on the 29th and will fill the ute up with 4x for the highway trip and ride.

nomad

A problem with the late model Hilux is the independant front suspension. The boys here in Victoria who like to go everywhere and anywhere hate the things. The suspension does not give the travel that the leaf springs give.They are always getting hung up. Look how many are for sale in the Victorian Trading Post. Peaple are heading for the Landcruisers now.

Independant front suspension (IDF) is only a problem off road and a big one but even the latest cruisers have gone IDF. Diesel Hilux is ok if you keep up services and you don't have asthma or you kids don't, some people with asthma have problems running diesels others it doesn't seem to bother.