Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Diff Lockers

afro

Diff Lockers

Just wondering if anyone is running diff lockers. Either Air, detroit or others. I was wondering how they perfomed in sand, I am aware of the benifits in the bush, but was warned they can actually harm performace in soft sand. Any thoughts and experinces would help.

Justin

Needmorerum

Re: Diff Lockers

Justin, I run air lockers in my 80 series cruiser. I have found that in the sand I tend to flick them on then off all the time (the bonus of air lockers). If I am bogging down and going to dig in I turn them off to save burying all 4 wheels in, but if I'm just running in soft stuff and I have the momentum I leave the rear in to help push me along.
    If you are asking to find out what type of locker to buy, then the answer is, there is only one, the ARB Air Locker, (no affiliation). Just look around to those that know and go along to some of the meets at Landcruiser Mountain Park and ask around.
    I don't know anyone who goes off roading and needs lockers that hasn't either got air lockers to start with or have ripped out the others and then put air lockers in. The other bonus is that you get an air compressor for pumping up your tyres when you've finished on the beech.

HTH
    Corry

Big_Kev

Yep just what Corry said.
    Start with an air locker in the back.

Jack_Lives_Here

Fit lockers = upgrade of recovery gear. It will get you deeper in than before.

Big_Kev

Yeah getb the lockers.
    If you are gonna bog it, bog it good.

afro

Thanks for the feedback and i intend to bog it very well indeed. Has anyone used or heard anything on the Lokka - Lock Right diff locks, they seem similar to a detroit locker, any feedback on these would help the decision making process.

G'day Guru,I sold my '87 Hilux recently,it had 395 K on the clock,at about 200 K I fitted(actualy my machanic mate)lock rite lockers front and back,they gave me no trouble and were still going strong when we parted company.The workings of the lock rite alows a wheel to spin faster than the drive wheel but not slower,sort of like a ratchet for want of a better term,this leeds to the audible click clack that can be heard when going around roundabouts or other tight turns.The beauty of these lockers is that you can maintain full steering in 4WD without being pushed forward,they do how ever make your steering extremly heavy in 4WD if you don't have power steering,they will also emit a loud bang every now and then especialy if you do a lot of lane swaping it is a bit unnerving at first but mine did it on countless occasions for no ill effect,this is also a trait of the Detroit Locker.All in all these things turned my old Hilux into a very capable old ute,hope this helps some.

Needmorerum

Guru, obviously money is an option. I strongly believe that you get what you pay for. Lockers included. Don't skimp out, get air lockers and you'll never regret it. If you need to, wait until the money is there for them. Like I've said before, everyone I know that has had Lock Rites has either gotten rid of them or regretted them.

Of course this is my opinion only

Corry

Big_Kev

Yes go for the ARB's.
    They are the prefered choice here and in the states.
    Get one for the back first if you can't go the whole hog straight up.

Jack don't live if he doesn't Like lockers and ARB airlockers are the only option.

PG

Something I heard was that if you have airlockers in the back and you're turning through sandy track or mud...is that they will tend to push your car forward because both wheels lock and drive at the same rate hence making steering very dificult if not impossible in slippery conditions. This can be dangerous and the option of flicking off is great IF you don't want to be stuck.
    I bought an 80 series cruiser last October with Detroit locker in the back and although not having had experienced much 4WD'ing or other lockers...I'm wrapped with it's performance in soft sand and even on the road.
    I can see a downside for airlockers.

Needmorerum

Well Paul with all the people I have come across within the 4WD scene, whether at social events, competition events or up the beach, your the only person I have ever heard say that you can see a dowside for airlockers.
    I've never heard of lockers, no matter what make or type, causing a vehicle to push forward. I've been in all different makes of 4wd's with all types of lockers fitted to them, on both dirt, rock, and sand and never had that feeling, or heard anyone else comment on having that sort of feeling.
    Of course this is related to having a locker in the rear, a front locker will give you that understeer effect, hence good reason to have the option to turn on and off.

Corry

PG

I remember reading a few comments to the effect of the ones below. The guru...you might find this site useful.
    I'm sure tehre are other sites with similar forums to ausfish, and sites that deal with 4WD'ing primarily.
    http://www.4wdaustralia.com.au/Forum...04_6/17670.asp

Quote Originally Posted by The guru
    Just wondering if anyone is running diff lockers. Either Air, detroit or others. I was wondering how they perfomed in sand, I am aware of the benifits in the bush, but was warned they can actually harm performace in soft sand. Any thoughts and experinces would help.

Justin
    When i went through the simpson witha mate of mine in a hilux he blew up his 4 well drive box so he had to use his arb diff locker to get through we only had to snach him once which is pretty amaseing really GO THE AIR LOCKERS THERE WORTH EVERY SENT
    CIA STEVE

guru

If you want to see the difference lockers make we should have a Ausfish day at the ormeau tracks and all the vehicles with air-lockers can drive up totally insane tracks. It really is very impressive!

As far as beach driving goes , i think there is limited benifit in lockers. As someone earlier said you only get six foot further in to the s#$%.

Air lockers are great on slippery boat ramps.
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!