Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Psychological State of 4WD owners.

Psychological State of 4WD owners.

Hello Everybody,
    I am distressed by the negative image that the media has presented regarding 4WD owners. They say that the psychological state of those who drive 4WDs is not good.
    I dont think it is suprising that many Australian families own a 4WD as we enjoy spending time in the great outdoors. Beats staying at home playing computergames, internet or watching TV all weekend. Many families can't afford 2 cars so it is only natural that they are going to choose one that suits their lifestyle.
    I don't believe you can judge someone as being psychotic just because of the car they buy.
    I have noticed that many 4WDers are very polite on the road as apposed to being pushy personalities. Road rage is endemic but I have not seen much of it in 4WD owners.
    I hate this urban legend but I think it will be around for a long time.
    Have a great weekend in the great outdoors.
    saphire [smiley=balloon3.gif]

Re: Psychological State of 4WD owners.

I saphire
    seen a report a little while back that concluded that the holden commodore has less visabiltiy out the rear end than most 4x4's,
    We own a rangie (work bus and tow horse for the boat) 626 for the wife and tripping about without the boat. my state of mind doesnt change in either vehicle, but it dont matter what i'm driving if someone persist on driving on a 100kmh road at 60kmh in good conditions I must confess to getting a touch frustrated, dont get agressive though.
    this is only an issue with minority groups i think and the majority say nothin

CHRIS_aka_GWH

I own a landy S3 because when i want a car that suits a beach life without a concern about sand in the carpet & can beach launch for me at christmas for 4 weeks. In 20 years of driving I have never had an accident - NEVER.

The kids call it the "adventure car" because we go interesting places in it & do interesting things that inspire their dreams of a peaceful, engaging world. We talk when we drive, not listen to radios because there is none - we talk of school, friends & science & make each other smile - that makes me smile.

They know it goes slow but we meet interesting people from other cultures enjoying the same dreams & share a fractured but friendly conversation passing the time as the adventure car chugs us all to its next destination.

I agree with u saphire - it ain't our psychology that's amiss.

seeyainthesurf,

& let them wave their fist sometimes as they pass - cause I'll still be smiling & that'll shit them no-end #

There is a new road being built that runs to the coast where we live. The speed limits set are 60k and 80k, when the road is finished the limit will be 100k all the way. Because I drive at these posted speeds my car now needs a new windscreen and a paint job. The damage has been caused by arrogant drivers who drive like there's no tomorrow. A huge proportion of these people are driving 4x4's. I also drive a 4x4 but its a medium size vehicle, a Sportage. Whilst most of these arrogant drivers are male. it is alarming to see a lot of them are young women in the 20 to 35 age group. These young women drive their 4x4's as though they were driving an unstopable, unbreakable battle tank. They number heavily in the high speed group, breaking all speed limits. These men and women are typical 4x4 drivers who give the good guys a bad name. The new road is also extremely dangerous, there are many long sections where the edge drops straight down 4 to 6 meters. No barricades have been errected along these sections and anyone who goes over the edge is history. It still has no affect on the arrogance of the speeders. It is just a matter of (a short) time before someone is killed. I don't know how these psycho types can be persuaded to drive with reguard to others. The ones driving 4x4's on this road do indeed give 4x4 owners and drivers a bad name.
    Eagle

NeilD

Idiots are everywhere. People notice them a bit more when they are in control(barely) of a couple of tons of metal. These are the same idiots who hit the beach and hoon past camps and vehicles with families around doing 120kph or tear up dunes for fun. The vast majority of people I know treat their 4X and others with the respect they deserve.

Well said horse,
    There are IDIOTS drivin ALL sorts of vehicles.Scary part is the IDIOTS driving large 4wds have a bigger weapon at their disposal.

Big_Kev

The thing that shxts me the most on the road is the dxckheads that think it is their own personal race track and you are just getting between them and the finish line.
    And yes the comment that idiots drive all sorts of vehicles is right on the money.
    I am an avid fan that special license should be required to drive a heavy class 4x4 such as big wagons etc (ie;vehicle weight based). And a competency standard acheived to be given such a license.
    Kev.

I am very laid back Rover driver, its the drivers behind me that get the rage

Big_Kev

Yeah I know what you mean Rob.
    Don't have to worry about how long it take's to get to 120kph as it just don't get there.

It does not matter what car or vehicle you drive fools / idiots will get behind the wheel of anything and with little reguard for other road users.

I am not in favour of a special licence for 4X4s its the person behind the wheel thats the problem. How do you get there attitude to change ................. no idea, apart from lots of education starting in schools say grade 10.

I myself see no need to speed or race around cause where i'm going will still be there if i'm a few minutes later.

Brian

Quote Originally Posted by Brian
    It does not matter what car or vehicle you drive fools / idiots will get behind the wheel of anything and with little reguard for other road users.

I am not in favour of a special licence for 4X4s its the person behind the wheel thats the problem. How do you get there attitude to change ................. no idea, apart from lots of education starting in schools say grade 10.

I myself see no need to speed or race around cause where i'm going will still be there if i'm a few minutes later.

Brian

Strange, but I find myselff in agreement with most of what you said :-) See my rant here http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfis...num=1121237584

I think the only way to stop poor driving is education . A speed camera will not save anyones life ! Attitude of the driver does ! As for the clowns driving erratically on the beaches , unless forums and magazines make an effort to discredit them and offer suggestions to eradicate them , you will not be driving on beaches in the not to distant future .If accidents occur regulary or god forbid a child gets killed and the media gets hold of it, it will be all over!! Advertisers need to take heed as well , seeing an x-trail getting flogged through mud etc ,or a crewman , hilux , etc does not really portray their intended purpose properly . It is like showing a HSV doing a burnout at the lights ,but they won't show that now !! So why show a 4wd getting hammered to any prospective clown who thinks that is the idea of 4wd driving !

Needmorerum

Everyone has their own opinion on vehicles, both what they're like and who should be able to drive them.
    NRMA have already proven that most 4WD's have better rear vision than your standard Commodore. And as far as special licences are concerned, That won't solve anything. If you think that those that drive around like idiots will change just cause they need a different licence, well that's nieve.
    There are the same amount of 'idiots' running around in V8 Commodores' and Falcons, and in late model utes and the pocket rocket Nissan SX's and WRX Subaru's.
    I don't know what it is like in other states now as I have been back in QLD for 10 years, but my thoughts are that everyone should have to re-sit their licence every 2 years, and attend a defensive driving course every 4. Once you are past the age of 55, you should have to do it every year. Once you have your licence, you never have to prove yourself again, even if you lose it or have it suspended for a period of time.
    My other sugestion is to get rid of speed camera's. Now before some of you jump up and down, here is why.
    If I'm hooning down the road and overtaking dangerously and I get a happy snap from a camera, there is nothing stopping me from doing it for the rest of my trip, however, if I am pulled over by a copper and given a ticket, I'll be spewing and watching my speedo for the next god nows how many k's.
    It won't be long before someone sues the Police force due to speed camera's. What happens when someone gets their photo taken doing 90 ina 60 zone and then goes around the corner, loses control, and kills someone. Now that would be neglect on the Police Forces behalf for knowingly letting someone go who is breaking the law.
    Anyway, well done if you have made it this far through my thoughts, now I'll get ready to duck and weave.

Corry

Yeah - I think it's the person behind the wheel regardless of what car/4WD it is.

The advertising people are to blame also: some time ago there was an ad for a car and it showed this group of young people driving in it and they were doing everything except watching where they were going. Didn't stay on very long; I reckon there must have been a lot of complaints about it.

Same with some people in 4WD's. No experience but they think they can drive it up the side of a mountain. How many times do you see an accident on Fraser where backpackers have hired a 4WD?

When some one makes comments about the state of mind of a 4x4 driver/owner this is a clear insite into that person's own state of mind. This is what they are really all about. If they say a 4x4 owner is frustrated it means that they are frustrated after all where did this thought occur only in their own head.

One other thing regarding special licenses for 4x4 I don't think so as once you give a fool a special licenses he/she will think he/she and his/her 4x4 are superhero's what is needed is an advertisement on TV where the viewers feel like they are in a 4x4 and another ad for drivers in a normal car where they have to hit the anchors and are then taken through the reality of what happens when the vehicle doesn't stop in the required time I am supprised that the special effects mob have not as yet come up with such an ad maybe they do not wish to create horror ads, but somthing is required to kurd the behaviour of todays younger drivers. Hey maybe some of these kids are in 4x4 giving the rest of us a bad name if you are one if these kids behave yourself as its a long road to old age and it can be easy or hard I guess the choice is yours. I have seen the results of my own daughter passenger in a p plate drivers vehicle she is ok she only broke her back. PS he had a commadore. and he didn't get a scratch on himself. One other thing If my daughter had her seat adjusted correctly she would not have had the injuries she substained so don't lay your seat back halfway as the seat belt won't catch you if you impact at an angle other than head on even then the belt may not catch you by the shoulder.