Nissan Patrol Lift Kit
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Nissan Patrol Lift Kit

Nissan Patrol Lift Kit

I'm thinking about getting a liftie for the patrol. I noticed at fraser the middle of the car dragging on most soft track's although i didn't get stuck i though with a liftie this would change. i don't really do any other 4X4 ing other than beach so i'm not sure if it's worth it & the car is used daily by the misses to run the kids to school groceries etc so i'm a little reluctant to race into it. but i also want to make it as east to get over the soft stuff also & be more confident to tow other people out. as there where many in need of help at fraser last week. any advise please.
    kleiny

Re: Nissan Patrol Lift Kit

what year mate I have done some work to mine and my mate has gone crazy with his.I could help you out i think
    -cheers marty

Big_Kev

Even just a couple of inches lift does wonders, 33 inch tyres also makes a big difference.
    This will still look and handle to an acceptable extent without going for the extreme approach.
    Just remember it will be higher for the missus and kids to get in and out and load the grocerys etc. So side steps might be needed as well for a weekly.

adrian

i agree with reel hard but make sure that you get 5 tyres not 4 as you can't run different size tyres.

Hi Kleiny,
    I have a gu patrol and was up at landcruiser park a couple of weeks ago. Did a bit a damage to both the side steps and have looked into how much a lift is.
    A 2" lift will cost about $1300 fitted as gu needs about the least amount of work to be done.
    In the meantime, I have removed the side steps to get more height.
    Graham.

zaneg

I might be totally wrong so I'll pose this this as more of a question but I thought lift kits only raised the body and it's attachments (ie sidesteps). If this is so, would a lift kit make much difference on a beach where your diff and axles are going to be dragging first anyway.

I know for rock hoppers it would help a great deal especially with some of the angels they work with but for general 4wd does it make that much of a difference.

I have been across Aus in a Hilux and decided against a lift kit as the Missus was pregnant, making it hard for her to get in. We spent a bit of time in the Kimberlies and on beach in Broome and considering some of the stuff we crossed, not once did I wish the car was higher. I have never thought of lifting it since.

Zane

it's a 95 patrol petrol 4.2 efi already has side steps.
    Zane on the nissan it has a huge bash guard under the motor & this is what i'm hoping to get up of the sand. My mate with me had a 2000 hi lux dual cab sr5 & he had the same problem but it was 3x worse. the diffs etc will cause minimal drag compared to this.
    kleiny

gday kleiny,
    i used to own a 1990 nissan patrol gq
    with a petrol. i purchased the car stock standard
    and wanted a little more clearance off roadin. i
    fitted a 4inch old man emu kit and what a difference.
    the car would go anywhere up the beach and often
    around a few toyota's . makes a big difference and well
    worth the time. i got the kit cheap and fitted myself. pretty
    simple and took one day to fit. ill post a pic of her up at landcruiser
    park after a run on the rocks.
    dale

after a run in cruiser canyon,
    was running no swaybars and 31 inch tyres
    killed it !!!!!!!!!

Dale,
    Nice photo of your damaged side step.
    Graham.

Most patrols start to sag with age ,so by saying 2" lift will actually come up a fair bit but this with 33" tyres will surely be heaps. Just the lift would be sufficient.I am a fan of ARB who sell Old Man Emu but I think its overpriced.I rang around and got a few prices and found Opposite Lock in the Valley was the best priced and I got a price of $900 for 2"lift and Tough Dog shocks worth a try unless your slightly mechanicaly minded then install them yourself.-marty

I have done a 40mm lift. I bought 40mm higher heavy duty King Springs and had them fitted for $350 and the local mechanics. You can still use the original shocks. If you go above 50mm you need to replace the shocks, need shims etc. so it becomes quiet involved and costly.

Nearly all the name aftermarket suspension component suppliers use King Springs.

I have since gone from 31x10.5/R15 to 275x75R16 which are about 30mm bigger in dimater.

You will notice more than 40mm lift if you still have the original springs because they sag quiet a lot.

Above 50mm you will also have problems with insurance as well.

FH1

Needmorerum

Don't forget about caster correction either when lifting it up.

Dale, what springs do you run to get a 4" lift with OME? Would they just be unladen 864's?

Corry

gday corry,
    not to sure on what brand spring
    brand as a mate who was sponsered
    by a mob gave me the kit as it was to
    low for his truck. good point about the
    caster correction corry as i had a lot of
    trouble getting the correct degree. caused
    me a lot of grief when the hubs were locked.
    even had plates fitted and still no good.
    heres a pick of my mates truck on that famous
    stump in the pig pen at cruiser.

running 35 baja claws and a 5 link.
    should have no worries in the sand with
    this lift kleiny.
    dale