Thread: anyone use a landrover discovery ?

anyone use a landrover discovery ?

was thinking of changing my ford falcon for a 4x4. looking at the discovery tdi or td5. when i lived in england a lot of mates had them and they never had problems. will be using it for 90% road. tow a 5.4m allycraft and maybe further down the line an odd trip to the likes of weipa. (or would that be out of the question?)
    anyone use one? which one is the better model to look for?
    any thoughts anyone?
    cheers daniel

Re: anyone use a landrover discovery ?

I dont personally have one but i have my heart and mind set on a td5 defender, a 110 with the TD5. My cousin however has a TD5 disco and couldnt be happier. This is a bloke who drives a road train brisbane-darwin reguarly so he knows his cars and engines. What i'm trying to say is it'll be a good car, great suspension, TD5 is powerful and economical, alloy body (no rust)(Y) and a trip to weipa??? No worries.
    PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

agree both engines are great, but it's the little things like ignition barrels collapsing half way up the beach and immobilising the car below the high tide mark, or the heater reservoir leaking in the dash that let rovers down.

If the 130 dual cab was built by toyota everyone would drive them.....
    nil carborundum illegitimi

I had a customer in today who had a TD5 Discovery and he was wrapped with
    the fuel economy it has been the most affordable vehicle per Km he has ever
    driven he did mention though Servicing the vehicle was the downfall as they
    are quite expensive but hey he's saving money from the bowser.

sound slike a few positive remarks. i will take a few test drives and see how i go.
    cheers daniel

CHRIS_aka_GWH

Quote Originally Posted by GBC
    agree both engines are great, but it's the little things like ignition barrels collapsing half way up the beach and immobilising the car below the high tide mark, or the heater reservoir leaking in the dash that let rovers down.

If the 130 dual cab was built by toyota everyone would drive them.....
    of course gearboxes that won't shift, heads that warp & turbos that implode allow the rust-bait from the land of the rising sun to get above the high tide mark ....

in 20 years of beach driving I have never seen a Lrover broken down or bogged on a beach.

this is worth watching - about a fornight to go I think ...
    http://www.landroverg4challenge.com/...fault%2Easp%3F

LRover traditionally (pre-Ford) don't advertise heavily they let their reputation speak & invest in real 4x4 challenges that test their gear. They are a genuine 4WD built as standard to go offroad. Their engines (as with most manufacturers) encounter problems in a new model that are usually ironed out of the production process quickly.

For full on feedback check these boys out ... http://www.aulro.com/index.php

Daniel,

I have a 2000 TD5 Defender Extreme. Last year I got the upgraded ECU to deliver more power. Seriously I am so happy with this car it isn't funny.

I'm getting 1/3 more power - around 130kw - and I'm now using less fuel - nearly getting 10km to the litre.

It's abeen a great car that has gone every and pulled everything.

I do have an issue with mine which is causing concern. My ABS modualtor has packed it in. It runs the ABS brakes and traction control. $7k for a replacement - YOU ####IN WHAT !!!!

At the moment I don't have either cause I'm not forking out the doe. If I do anything I'll go air lockers for around half the price and get better traction and forego the ABS.

Oh well.

Where's Kev - he usually has an opinion on Landies

Don't want to start the whole rover love hate thing again chris, just speaking from the few personal experiences I've had. Also had experience with rear axle splines flogging out, and two brand new Rangie Autobiographies ($140k each) blowing the engines because the factory put the wrong thermostats in them.
    On balance, I've also had bad experiences toyotas, holdens etc, but fishface didn't ask about them.....

On build quality issues - one of our fleet commodores brand new returned atrocious fuel figures - factory checked it all fine. One of our chippies had a listen and heard a rattle in the air inlet - pulled it apart and found a crushed coke can in it - tru.
    nil carborundum illegitimi

we currently have three landrover defenders in our family and im looking for a 130 xtra cab ute as we speak for beach fishing trips. i have nothing but praise for the landrover breed they are simply a great truck, remarkable fuel economy and a tough go anywhere build.

both my uncles have disco's and havent had any issues with them.

like any vechicle thou if you dont look after it it will cost you money.

Drew

Bugman- this ECU you have for your defender. Where from and how much?
    PRECISION DETAILING

Dave,

It's a Bruce Davis rebuilt job from Sydney. I got it put in by MR Automotive up at Redcliffe. Total cost was around $950 from memory. It can only be done on the TD5's not the TDI's as far as I'm aware. Best money ever spent on the car.

Thanks mate. When my defender comes round it'll be a TD5 for shure.
    PRECISION DETAILING

I have had both the ignition barrel lock and radiator dramas with a td5. They are a very competent 4wd but I never trust it when driving it. Furhter to Bretts comment regarding the price of parts. Consider if you need to replace one injector it is in excess of $ 1500.

just to stir up the pot,a mate has one (swears by it) and put 2 hiclones in it,straight off more power and better fuel economy so HE says.
    Wondering?if they are so good why are they so cheap second hand with low km and not very old ?

akman...... Brand new their about $48000. 2ND hand their about mid 30's for something 3-4y/o with about 70-90km on it. Not a huge drop I didnt think so. And if their such a "bad" 4x4..... how come the army use them?
    PRECISION DETAILING