Where do you live?
I don't know what went wrong with my previous thread, so I'll try to type it out again from memory in case it doesn't show up.
I've never had much of a clue about cars so please go easy on me.
I've got a 100 series Cruiser, I'd previously had a 80 series and before that a beaut little Suzuki Sierra.
I've always felt that the 100 series sits a bit too low. I don't know if it's because it's duel fuel and the additional weight of the LPG tank and the spare tyre now on a bracket hanging off the back of the truck. This is most noticeable when I always scrape my towball coming off the barge at Moreton, even at an angle and without deflating the tyres much. I normally do it again boarding the barge a few days later, despite the load being considerably lighter after the grog has been consumed
I always said I'd do something about it when the shockies need replaced (is this logical?), and the time has now come. So what I'm basically asking is do I just get the mechanic to put on "longer shocks" than currently? Can a normal service centre do this, or do I need to take it to a specialised place? What parts/brands do I need, and what would be recommended? What should I expect to pay?
I don't want to go too high, just a couple of inches of additional clearance would be a big improvement. Otherwise, if I lifted it much more I won't be able to park the truck at the underground carpark at work.
Sorry for all the presumably dumb questions, and thanks in advance for any advice.
Good luck,
Where do you live?
nil carborundum illegitimi
Hi mate,
I'm in The Gap, Brisbane.
Mike, I have a 100 series which I raised 50mm. I'm a mechanic by trade but to do it yourself is not really difficult. I went to Pedders and got hold of the springs (50 mm lift) and put in a set of poly air bags to boot. It took me about half a day. The springs will cost between $170 and $200 per pair. As you have found out the 100 series is a heavy vehicle and it doesn't take long to sag. As for shocks well there are that many out there on the market. It will end up coming down to how much do you want to pay.
Have fun
Dex
Thanks Dex,
Someone I was speaking to mentioned that I might have springs at the back, but "torsion bars" at the front. Is this right, and what are they?
Good luck,
That sounds about right Mike (Springs/torsions)
The rear springs will be coils. You would replace them with longer coils (say 2" lift) as well as getting shocks that extend further (to account for the extra "drop")
The torsion bars can apparently be "wound up" to do a 2" lift, but I don't know alot about them... You would need to replace the shocks in the front too.
All up it can be costly... Kev & Corry would know a hell of a lot more than me in regards to this. Alternatively, give ARB/TJM a call. They'll tell you the info.
Mike, have a look on your compliance plate (under the bonnet on your firewall). You will either see 105 series (solid front axle) which have springs on the front and back or 100 series (torsion bar setup) which have torsion bars on the front and springs on the back. Upgrading the torsion bars is an expensive one. You can adjust the original ones but how far I'm not sure. As stated if it is torsion bar seek out some professional assistance.
Dex
Living at the Gap you have a few options. Probably the cheapest will be 'Johnz' off outer limits.com in the toyota section- P.M. me if you can't find him there. He distributes a number of brands and runs a hunjy himself. Other than that, I have found BOAB off road on the north side to be excellent.
Look under the front of the vehicle to see if there is an axle there to determine if it is ifs or not.
The torsion bars can be wound without having to be replaced on the IFS models, but will have to be done by a suspension shop as the alignment will have to be reset at the same time.
C.J.
Hi Mike,
Speaking form experience I can tell what I did to my cruiser to get a little more clearence and I am picking up today my new cruiser today and about to do the same. (except for the tire advice).
I had ARB fit a set of old man emu nitro charges on the front and had them dial up the torsion bars, i think it was about 29mm. I than had ARB install old man emu nitro charger shocks to the rear and a set of constant load 400 kg springs. this raised the vehicle nicely. it seemed to also improve the ride. After 16,000 klm in 8 weeks I can say it was a very good ride. The final step was to fit a set of 285 tires. I fitted coopers. This gave it a further inch of lift and looked like a new vehicle. If your tries are looking tires maybe yo could go for the change.
Hope that helps Mike.
Jamie
Hi mate,Originally Posted by GBC
I had a look there, but there's no contact numbers or email address. Any chance you could send me some please?
Thanks,
Sctatch that mate, I got his mobile number and he's given me a better price than TJM and Opposite Lock. He's just up the road, happy to do it at night or weekends, and happy to show me and let me test drive the same lift in his 100 Series.
Thanks for putting me on to him.
Good luck,
Originally Posted by Dex38
Hi Dex,
Just for info - I've got springs at the front, but the compliance plate states it's a 100 series
It's actually a good thing for me - springs are not as expensive to replace.
Good luck,
G'day 2iar,
John is an honest guy who cares - works from home too which keeps the cost down.
He sold me a body lift for the ute and I'll be going back for new springs and shocks before I head up the cape this winter.
The man doesn't mind a chat though, so don't ring him when you're short of time
C.J.
Check out Outerlimits
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Mo...ic.php?t=51966
I must admit, I did notice that when I called him just to check it out. The first 20 or so minutes were ok thoughOriginally Posted by GBC
Good to hear of your positive experience, thanks again.
Good luck,