-
WHAT DO YOU THINK?
G'day all
I have just purchased a brand new 06 toyota hilux tray back 4*4 which i think is great my first new car drives well
and i am really happy with it but......
on opening up the bonnet on getting it home i see the compliance plate says built november 05 and rego sticker reads 05.
I see red and ring toyota straight away asking what the hell is going on and he tells me that you don't go by either of these two you have to look on the passenger side door and read what is on the plate in their, so upon reading this it says 01/06 but i think this plate is when it arrived in Australia so to cut a long storey short what do you think????????????
-
Re: WHAT DO YOU THINK?
Indy,
The veh probably arrived in australia in december 05 and i know for a fact that it wouldnt have been plated until 06. This is not hard to work out.
I deliver a lot of cars that were built 6 to 8 months ago and get a compliance plate when allocated to a dealer.
This is normal practice and the average new car buyer is not aware of this until it is to late.
Best i leave it there.
Graeme
-
Hi Pete,
I have always gone by the plate under the bonnet,I didn't know there was a sticker on the door.
My ute only has the one under the bonnet. It has built aug 01..
My last bike had a nov 97 plate on it but there classed it as a 98 model.
I would go to a car yard and look at one there,Then ask the salesmen what model it is. To see if he goes by the plate..
Ask Phil at work what the plate on his says..
Seeya Bill..
-
hi pete ,we just picked up a new suzuki swift that had the same situation and the dealer told us that you go of the plate which shows it first registered in the country,thus our complience plate in the door,i always look at the one under the bonnet,but by the sounds of it i better look in other places.
-
My Suzuki Grand Vitara is built December 99' but under it on the compliance plate reads Jan 00'..
It's how it goes on imports mate, it does take a little time to get good cars here by sea.. #
-
still don't explain the rego being in '05? was it a demo mate?
-
Ausfish Premium Member
surely you would have noticed the rego sticker on the windscreen when you collected it???
-
Its just like outboard motors all the 2007 models will be available around September 2006 .
-
Thanks for your responses
pinhead & lippa #sticker says registered to april 07 but if you look at the bottom of the sticker in the small text it has the no./date when all cars are manufactured hence the 05 that it shows on my ute.
-
well if thats the case your car should have been a "run-out model" vechiles plated "05 hence a hefty saving, i bought my prado in feb. and payed 48200 drive away. almost 10k cheaper then getting a '06 plated car (year maufatered not complied).
-
what happened to the hummer? or was that your brothers? it finally twigged who you were ! i'm a good mate of the gibson boys
-
G'day lippa
The hummer belongs to Dean (work car) i couldn't even afford to run that thing let alone the price tag, it has got a big block chev in it i think he said 427 good thing that his boss pays for the fuel. Don't quote me on it but i am pretty sure it cost him $180 000 good for some hey!
Going to transport department tomorrow to get to the bottom of my ute problem will keep this post updated...
-
spoke with a ford dealer today, he said a discount would have to depend on factory bonous's. but is sure your car will be an '06
that hummer is asweet looking ride!! seen it in the paper a while back!
how's todd?
-
i think that you have been had ,just wait till you go to sell it and you will receive a different story unless you were sold it a discount price
-
Rang toyota yesterday and asked the dealer again what is going on (different dealer this time) he tells me he is not sure and will ring me back, 45mins later still no call so i get impatient and ring him again and he tells me he has just got back from down the road and tells me to give him my mobile no. and he will get back to me.
No phone call yesterday so i wait patiently all day today still no call so i decide to pop in and say hello > I get to the yard and ask for my dealer and get told he is on his way up from the service department and they rang him and let him no i am here waiting so i wait outside for him as i see him approaching from the otherside of the road and then the fat bastard see's a pertential buyer and spends twenty minutes talking to them for f.....cks sake.
Finally get to talk to him and let him no i am not real happy about the hole situation
thank him very much for ringing me back and told him that he dosn't give a shit about me any more because he now has my money and that is that.
Then we look at the ute and i show him the build date nov 05 and the rego sticker 05
and he tells me also you have to go buy the one inside of the door which show 01/06.
I then say this is bullshit and tell him no matter what, the car says built nov 05 and thats that. So in the end we go back and forth about the same thing and i get no result,
so i left it with i will be ringing transport department and see what they have it registered as and told him if they say it is an 05 model i will be bringing it back and i want it replaced with an 06.
So i leave there and i am on my way home and i get a phone call from him saying that he has some form that he wants me to see that states it is a 06 model which he will fax to me tomorrow (shall be intresting).
lippa todd is good michille is pregant again, due in september still has his boat he is thinking of selling it and just coming out with me thanks for your feedback with this topic
cheers pete