i'd be hitting 'em with some cash back mate!!! which dealer was it? salesmans name? pm me if you don't want to post it up here!
Check this out
http://www.dpc.vic.gov.au/domino/Web_Notes/newmedia.nsf/bc348d5912436a9cca256cfc0082d800/e93d9c87fdd2a2adca257106007cc817!OpenDocument
i'd be hitting 'em with some cash back mate!!! which dealer was it? salesmans name? pm me if you don't want to post it up here!
i think you were jibbed mate. A good freind told me that if vehicles leaving the factory are going to be complied in the following year, the build plate is changed to that year. ie. made in 11/05, but is fitted with a 1/06 plate.
3 years from now or whenever time to sell is, a buyer is going to look at the plate under the hood and call it a 05. Thats sucks mate, and from personal experience almost all car dealers are#wankers # I was mad just reading your follow up story where the fat prick wouldn't even return your call.
What say Ausfish members in the area get together and pay the dealer a visit at closing time #
EDIT: just had a look at my hilux. it is plated 10/03 and i bought it brand new with 4km on the clock in 02/04, not a demo.
They called it a 03, and i guess it arrived in Australia from Japan in 12/03?, don't know. But anyway it was a run out model and i saved $3000 even though a 04 is identical to mine.
Don't know if that helps, but anyway..........
if you want, i can have a go at following it up for you pete, i know a few of them there, not the c-sucker in mention. same mob done well by me.
G'day lippa yes mate if you could follow that up for me that would be really good i just dont understand that when i first went to purchase the ute i asked for a run out 05 model and they told me they had none and in my eyes that is exactly what i received but for some weird reason they dont see it that way.
I paid them an extra $1300 hundred for the 06 and got an 05 any way.
If you have no luck i will be going to consumer affairs followed by today tonight and then a current affair and who ever else i can think off.
People need to no what kind of sceems that they are trying to play.
Your help would be greatly appreciated good luck.
Cheers pete.....
Ps i will throw in a free reef trip for your troubles.
Unlucky stuff Pete. Hope it all works out for the best mate.
Im a huge 4X4 man, this is my first time in the Off-road chat funnily enough! Havnt heard too many nice things about the new Hilux, though id take any 4X4 Single Cab between 1986 and 1990 for sure, tough tough cars. Long live the chevrolet powered crusiers though .
TinarooTriumph
TT
I am confused..what is the problem...you bought an imported vehicle..they do take time to get into the country...mine has Dec 05 on the build plate....1/06 on the compliance plate inside the door and 2005 on the rego sticker...I cannot see what all the fuss is about..as for people ringing back..it will take me at leats 4 hours to phone customers back..people don't just sit around waiting for others to ring..they may actually be working. Did you have on your sales contract an '06 model ?? mine says '06 build and the plate says Dec '05..I doubt tgat will make one iota of difference in resale value...I seem to think that a lot of people (not necessarily those on here but if the hat fits..) these days buy a product then go and look to see of they have been ripped off. check everything before you buy then sign on the line and in some instances don;t even bother with a contract...a handshake can seal a good deeal also.
Have to wonder why the dealer never mentioned it at settlement. How long does it take to read the followng?
"here is your new hilux sir. Take the time to have a inspection and ask any question you like. Oh, and i SHOULD mention, its a 2006 model even thought the manufacture date is 2005"
How hard was that?
I agree with you mate! Live axle hilux with a suspension kit, real tyres and twin lockers. Unstoppable, and makes the new IFS hiluxs (mine included ) look like subarus off road.Originally Posted by TinarooTriumph
I also dont understand what all the fuss is about....what is the difference if the vehicle is built 12/05 rather than 1/06???
And for the record the build date is always taken off the compliance plate rather than the build plate so even though your vehicle was built in 05 it should read 06 on the rego papers.
Boz
Boz,Originally Posted by Boz
All this got me going and looking at my 05/06 Hilux.
build plate says 12/05 When left factory.
Plate in door says 01/06 This woukd allow for the 4weeks from factory O/S to Aussy i assume.
Rego says 13/02/06 this was one day before i picked my car up.
Aircon sticker says 01/06 4 klm. all Aircons are installed in Aussy as it is cheaper to bring them in as spare parts not as part of Dualcab price. GST or something i think.
I got a great deal on my Hilux and never thought which one i was going to get because i still had to wait four weeks after ordering mine.
Hope all turns out to your satisfaction.
Cheers Tony
Question.
What if the 2006 model hilux is a totally new generation to the 2005. If a 11/05 build complied in 1/06 is a 2006 model, does that mean there are two versions of 2006 hilux?
Good question kevin very intresting
Tony i rang up the transport department and they said they have it down as a 05 because they have to right down what is on the firewall
Boz mine reads 05 on the rego
i'll have a yarn with 'em tommorow pete, worst case scenario i'll at least get some ammo for you.