Thread: rodeo diesels

Re: rodeo diesels

Punkin,
    Im not sure but i think you will find that the gearing on the new models is bigger than the older modles.
    The 2.8 i had pulled really well but was very low geared. The new modles that i drive on and off my truck seem to be a little higher geared. This could be the difference.
    I am still empressed with the 3lt i have as i just bought a new boat and is a lot heavies than the old one and pulls it with no trouble.
    Graeme

Got no idea, Graeme, just relaying what my mate said.
    Since i've known him he's had a 2.8 l Hilux extra cab, a 3.0l hilux twin cab, a cruiser single cab, a rodeo 3.0l turbo, a daihatsu terios, a Susuki softtop...etcetc.
    Just one of those guys who buys a new car when the fuels gettin low on the old one.

Knows his shit and thats what he says, uses it for a couplea thousand k's a week. I just love my ute, and know it serves me well. Get 11km litre with the boat and the holiday load, 120lt tank takes me wherever i wanna go

Motorcycle man myself, never owned a car till i was 38

My employer has a few Holden Rodeos, their fuel economy is terrible. Recently went on a trip to Blackwater. On the way home fuelled up at Duaringa. The 3 litre Rodeo used a quater of a tank (15 litres) between Duaringa and Rockhampton (108 kilometres). Not real good hey?

Guardian,
    I know the road well and i can guess you were gasing it up in the hills which would cause the fuel consumption. Maybe not but know mine would do a lot better than that.
    Graeme

vossy

Hey Fingers, I've got a 2002 3ltr TD Rodeo dual cab and it's fantastic on the fuel. Even towing a horse float it still gets good economy. The best I've got out of a tank is 730kms with me and the wife in it.
    A great ute cheers vossy

G'day Gents, I own a '99 Single Cab 2.8 Td Rodeo and wouldn't have anything else, consistantly get 9.5 ltrs/100 K's, loaded or not. I've moved from Toowoomba to Vicoria to Northern NSW with it, everymorning I walk out to go to work I give her a big hug, give her a lube, oil and fuel filter change every 10,000k and she just keeps on runnin', I've been into one or two other 4wd 'forums' and I haven't seen to much bad written about them
    As for capability, they are only as good as the bloke behind the wheel, the same as any other, dare I say it, commercial 4x4.
    Now the fuel efficiency (economy) of the V6 variant is a completely different storey and in this climate (fuel prices) I wouldn't go there !!!!!

vossy

Fingers have you bought your dualcab yet? If so what did you end up getting.

vossy.

Vossy,I haven't got dual cab yet I keen on the 3L if the budget will stretch,I think the push button 4x4 would be a handy function and motors sounds good.I have been looking at on line auctions (pickles) in brisbane.I held my leg crushed between to cars just before christmas when a young ######## hooning lost control of his wrx and collected me as I was getting into back seat of car docs did a good job saving my lower leg,hopefully I will be able to drive in another couple of months or so, plenty of time to find a good deal on a rodeo