Thread: rodeo diesels

rodeo diesels

Im interested in member opinions on the two rodeo diesels motors the 2.8L and the 3L current model.I have read some bad reports on the fuel ecomomy on the3L.I'm looking at buying a dual cab but think the hilux turbo may be a bit out my budget,how would normal hilux diesel compare to rodeo motors thanks for any feedback

Re: rodeo diesels

Go on get a navara ... you know you want to

As you can see from the recent Navara thread there are a few happy customers.

Hi fingers,

I had the 2.8TD Rodeo for 2 years until I recently upgraded to the 3.0LTD Navara.

The old Rodeo was a very good vehicle if you're looking for something pre 1992,
    but I know two blokes with new ones and there's no way I'd buy one. Both had a significant amount of mostly small, but bloody annoying problems.

Driven both the old and new TD Rodeos and the Navara is just in a different class - also better economy. Dunno what the new Hiluxes are like, but doubt they'd be worth the extra dollars.

Check out the recent Navara thread that LazyBugger mentioned.

P.S. Mine is the recently superceded model Navara. Don't know for sure what the new ones are like, but have read several good reports.

Fingers,
    Everyone to their own and i am taken with the rodeos because i have had such a good run out of them.
    I had a 97 2.8lt turbo diesel and we went everywhere with it and it didnt let me downn. Halfway round aussie and i dont know how many times on the beachs. Fuel useage 10 ks to the litre.
    I sold it to a mate of mine who is a mechanic and he did it up fully rebuild of the motor and a couple of other things and it is just like new again.
    I nom have a 2003 3lt intercooled turbo diesel and i reckon its the bees knees and my deckie loves it.
    The old one was a 5 speed manual and the new one is an auto which makes life easy and is topshelf on the sand.
    You said about fuel consumption well this depends on how you drive and if you drive your vehicle like you own it and not hireing it, it makes a difference. Just have a look around on holidays at on of the beach locations and see how many dick heads there are out there and wounder why they chew up fuel.
    Remember being auto we get 10kl per ltr with this one and that is nothing to complain about.
    Converting the figures back to the old scale im getting now 28 miles per gallon.
    This is top running figures four 4x4 running.
    However when towing the boat the running figures are nothing like this nor would anyother vehicle have good running figures.
    Like i said everyone to their own and im sold on rodeo's and i have driven the lot.
    Graeme

Hey there. I currently own a 05 3.0td rodeo single cab. Looked at all the others and for value for money it came out on top. The navara had no leg room and didn't look as good with the bullbar i wanted(custom made bullbar) and i have a 04 turbo diesel triton for a company work vehicle and i hate it. So far the rodeo has been great. Onle thing is its a little ruff driving aronund the paddocks (on our propertys) which i beleve new shocks in the front would fix and a little low. Tows my 4.5 topender easy and i love the push button 4wd. It gets the 10km to the litre unless driven really hard. Anyway its been good. Diddn't go for the hilux as dont like to buy a new model till fully tested. I have mates that have done up to 400000km on their original 2.8td motors and still goin. Anyway thats my thoughts

See yas

go the nissan
    i get 35 mile to the gallon in the old scale
    around 8 litres per 100km
    nissan has heaps more power when
    pulling a big load.
    cheers dale

i have a 2.8 lt turbo 91 240000ks and still going hard . more room in the cab more room in the tray than any other make.my mate has a narvra and there is no room in the back of it. another mate has the holden and it is just as good as my old girlits 2yr old and he has not had a problem. go the isuzi . cheers barfly

I have the 99 Jackaroo 3.0lt Turbo, Same as the Rodeo. Excellent drive, comfortable and power to boot Just did the round trip bris to vic and return. No aching back. 9 km / litre. Towing the 575 Outsider at 110km/hr 6 km/ litre

My brother and 3 of my mates have 97 diesel rodeos. We took 2 of them through a flooded Simpson Desert 2 years ago and both handled the conditions easily. The only problem we had was one of them shat the clutch master cylinder just after leaving Mount Dare for Oodnadatta. We could not get it fixed anywhere down the track and so my mate drove it all the way to Port Augusta changing gears without a clutch, just had to start it in 1st gear and go from there. I have to admitt that I am not that good to be able to do this. The only apparant weekness with these vehicles is that all of the 4 vehicles mentioned above had to have their clutches replaced at around the 100,000km mark and the one we had the clutch trouble with has actually done two.

Hi there, everone to there own but, I currently own a 2004 holden rodeo dual cab 3l turbo diesel, as for being slugish when towing well i cannot believe this eg= i also own a toyota landcruiser while following my wife towing she was in the rodeo towing a 4.5m tinny with 2 x 44 gallon drums full of diesel she was still pulling away from me on most hills all i had in the cruiser 2 dogs and 4 bags of dog feed. I average 10 l per 100km with my rodeo and just fitted a canopy and i love this. I also tested the others but stuck to the holden for the extra cab room.Maybe the hilux now may be betteri don't really know. As for problems where these engine problems? I worked in a Holden dealer ship for 7 years and i can tell u these izuzu motors are pretty bloody good. The only rebuilds or oil consumption motors where from misuse or lack of maintance (this is rodeo motors not the jackaroo). Also have a look at a lot of mine vehicles thes days mainly contractors there is a lot of rodeos. Personally the 2 choices would be rodeo hilux, then maybe narvara's. As for value for money though i would even consider the narvara (can't believe i said this). On a nother not my rodeo is 2004 55000 km and currently i can change it over for $13000 for the latest model and this is keeping my acessories so not bad resale either.

Dalprice this fuel economy figure is that empty sitting on 90km/h on the flatest highway in australia. Talking to a few narvara drivers and the say u have freak. In all honesty though i don't mind the nissan but after a few trips to the cape keeping them together is a problem.

Thanks for the replys ,GAWBY very interesting reply just wondering have you found much difference from the 2.8 and 3l,with regards to performance and cab size,tray size etc,I'm tossing up between the two models the older stlye fair bit cheaper naturally but if the new style may be worth extra bucks?

not a freak mate,
    just an awesome machine.
    ask anybody who drives a dual cab nissan and
    they will be gettin around 10 l per 100,
    i have a single cab and my toolbox on one side
    full of hand tools. doesnt matter for me highyway
    or just puttin around. just did the tow to 1770 for the
    meet and greet and used 65l of diesel with a 6m boat.
    rodeo is not in the same ball park for
    fuel consumption or pulling power.
    just my oppinion and my figures. by one and you will
    see just hoe good they are.
    cheers dale

Fingers,
    Been away in my truck and just got home so this is a late reply to your question.
    The new one seems to have a little more cabin room and about the same tray space.
    As for power its hard for me to compare as the 2.8 was a manual and the 3 lt is an auto. However saying that the 3lt pulls really well when under laod and i dont think that it matters what you are using towing slows the best of vehicles and fuel economy falls.
    I think this has been a pretty fair debate and realy comes down to personal prefernces.
    Graeme

My regular fishing partner has an 05 or 06 3lturbo for work, he reckons it's nowhere near as good as my 98 2.8 as far as pulling power goes.
    Seems funny, bigger engine and all, but he's lookin for an older 2.8 for his private car rather than the new bigger engine.
    Haven't driven his work car myself, so can't comment, but can say i love my Rodeo Spacecab (not withstanding the 260k km's) and would buy another one tommorrow if it burnt down tonight.