Thread: rodeo 1000kg towing cap. ???

rodeo 1000kg towing cap. ???

I have got a single cab 2000 2.8TD dx 4x4 rodeo and according to the red book site the braked towing capacity for my ute is only 1000kg > #W.T.F!!!
    If this is right, that is really p!$$ poor. The 2003 model with the 3L TD has a max of 2000kg. Thats a lot better.
    Does anybody have a book for one of these that states the braked towing cap.
    Please help if you have any info as i might need to buy a hilux to tow my boat if it comes in over 1000 measily kg.

Cheers anyfish

Re: rodeo 1000kg towing cap. ???

this is probably wrong mate,,, but i overhear the fellow workmates talking more about

""download pressure on the ball"""

which is lower again in tow capacity

i'll get bagged on this,,, all i know is tow capacity is 1 level,,, but towball is different
    can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Nah that can't be right 1000kg. 89 model 4cyl camry has more than that.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

Ah ha, my Wrangler still wins with its pathetic 900kg, what was worse was the pathetic responce and BS from Jeep DC Aust.

#
    # Home #Contact #Breakdown Cover #Legal #Trailer Centers #Useful Links #

#
    #GUIDE TO SAFE AND LEGAL TOWING #Copyright© 2005
    # Towing Capacities #
    #Wiring #
    #Caravans #
    #Safety #
    #Servicing #
    #Reversing #
    #More Information HGV, LGV Training HGV Parking Training & Testing Security Products #

#

RECOVERY
    SERVICES

#Towing Capacities

When towing a trailer great care should be taken and more responsibility accepted. Remember Safety first! Accidents involving trailers are much worse with greater consequences than without a trailer. You vehicle is longer and heavier and all your load is anchored to your vehicle at one small point. Like an airline pilot you must regularly check the condition of your trailer and linkage to make sure that you arrive safely and with everything that you had at the start of your journey.

Loading your trailer or caravan is critical to safe driving as is the knowledge of your towing weights and capacity for your vehicle. Getting this wrong can cost you dearly. You can buy towing scales which measure the total weight of your towed load to make sure that it doesn't exceed the capacity of your vehicle but equally important is to make sure that your load is spread evenly.

The following was submitted to CLIC by Ian Willis in answer to an inquiry about the 85% beginners towing rule. It was generally thought within CLIC, that Ian's words helped to clarify the situation as regards to towing in Great Britain.

85% (or even 100%) rules are not "rules" but guidelines which have no substance in law. They are designed to ensure that the outfit will be stable (all other factors being equal). Exceeding this figure, whilst not illegal in itself, COULD lead to prosecution if the driver was stopped because of (say) instability or after an accident as there is a requirement on the driver to ensure the safety of his vehicle in the Construction and Use Regulations.

#Usually a manufacturer will quote a tow weight which is far greater than the mass of the vehicle. Generally this is based on the total train weight (car + caravan) which can be started on a 12% gradient.
    Where this weight (or any other e.g. nose weight) is given as lower by the manufacturer the user ignores it at his peril. Insurance could well be void after an accident - worse, the illegal combination could cause the accident if the vehicle is unable to handle it.

The big problem we have in the UK is the traffic density, especially on Motorways, which has caravans in close proximity to both cars and large goods vehicles at speed. The vortices encountered can cause trailers to wander if not loaded correctly and matched to the towing vehicle.

Some useful info:
    Kilograms to Cwts. Multiply by .01968
    Cwts to kilograms. Multiply by 50.8
    Don't forget there's 112 pounds in a Cwt
    Kilograms to Pounds. Mutiply by 2.2045
    Pounds to Kilograms. Mutiply by .4536

Click on a make of car below to display the towing weights for each model. #

Make Model Variation Year Kerbweight (Kg) #85% (Kg) #Towing Capacity (Kg) Towing Capacity (Lbs) Caravans Within Capacity
    Alfa Romeo • Audi • BMW • Cadillac • Chevrolet • Chrysler • Citroλn • Daewoo • Daihatsu • Fiat • Ford • Honda • Hyundai • Isuzu • Jaguar • Jeep • Kia • Land Rover • Lexus • Mazda • Mercedes • MG • Mitsubishi • Nissan • Peugeot • Porsche • Proton • Renault • Rover • Saab • Seat • Skoda • Ssangyong • Subaru • Suzuki • Tata • Toyota • Vauxhall • Volkswagen • Volvo •
    Select a model: RodeoTF Pick-upTrooper InsigniaTrooper LWBTrooper SWB # #Isuzu TF Pick-up 4x2 Crew Cab 2002 1535 1305 2000 4409 Show Caravans #
    Isuzu TF Pick-up 4x2 Single Cab 2002 1475 1254 2000 4409 Show Caravans #
    Isuzu TF Pick-up 4x4 Crew Cab 2002 1735 1475 2000 4409 Show Caravans #
    Isuzu TF Pick-up 4x4 Crew Cab 4Sport 2002 1732 1472 2000 4409 Show Caravans #
    Isuzu TF Pick-up 4x4 Single Cab 2002 1675 1424 2000 4409 Show Caravans #

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Home | Contact us | Terms & Conditions | Privacy
    #
    Couldn't find anything else but this might help, if i have it right the 2002 s/cab has a 2000 kg towing capacity. The table above is easier to understand looking at it on the net.
    Graeme #

Gday all
    Ok that figure on the red book site got me worried so i rang holden today.
    They said the 2000 2.8td single cab ute has a 1800kg towing cap. with driver iniated brakes (whatever that means)
    Well thats good to hear. I wont have to trade her in on a hilux after all.

thanks to all that replied.
    anyfish

Fat chilly, how did you go with re engineering the TJ for a heavier towing rating??
    I'm selling the falcon so the TJ has to step-up for duty

What re-engineering? exactly, the hull, outboard and trailer comes in just under the 900kg rating (875kg). So if the tanks totally empty I should be legal (less all the crap on board).

Where ru at Matt?

I did get the details of a bloke around Kippa-Ring who may engineer it, need to get it up there. I also wrote to DC but all I got back was BS (no real explaination, they just tried to mask the issue in tech crap, which didn't cut it so I replied and disputed there crap. They haven't replied.
    As your aware Lazz and a few others added rear disks and had them re-engineered, my argument to that was that they don't need them as it does not impact the braking sufficiently. My point being was that the Rubicon's come with rear disks, yet they still only have a 900kg tow cap.

A mate who is a local homicide cop and boaty (owns 3) said not to worry if its a little over (doesn't ease my mind as for insurance though), he said if the vehicle looks like it matches up to the size of the boat then nothing will happen and the DOT won't do anything. If it was an excel towing it then they would deffinately look into it.

FC.

Good on ya Anyfish,
    Hate to see you give up the rodeo for a dirty hilux
    Graeme

hey GAWB what about a clean one then [smiley=laola.gif]
    Cheers Tezza

Anyfish,
    Just been having a chat with maztez, are you sure what you were looking at was the towing capacity and not the carrying capacity which would be 1000kgs.
    Graeme

Quote Originally Posted by gawby
    Anyfish,
    Just been having a chat with maztez, are you sure what you were looking at was the towing capacity and not the carrying capacity which would be 1000kgs.
    Graeme
    I think you have it Graeme

Here is the link to that page

http://www.redbookasiapacific.com/au...p?key=HOLD00BK

"Towing braked 1000kg"

After talking to holden I think 1000kg is a stuff up and now don't trust anything on that website.

Cheers Anyfish