Gday darren
mate i have a set of coopers on my navara and they are fantastic
garentee50000 km i think
have a look at them
scotty
Hey Guys,
I will be in the market for a set of new tyres for the 100 Series Cruiser soon.
I know nothing about them, so am after opinions on the best value for money tyre.
Needs -
VERY occasional beach work
VERY often towing big weight boat
MOST often cruising the streets and highways doing what we call life!
I need good value for money tyres that will last many km's (how many should I expect?)
I am after a full set of tyres, 4 x 275 x 16 on standard alloy rims.
I did buy a set of GT Radials for my last 4x4, a Jackaroo. They seemed to be good.
Im looking at spending up to about $250 per tyre, is this reasonable?
Who should I buy from on the Gold Coast/Southern Brissie?
Does anyone else need some where we could maybe get a bulk buy and save money?
Any info appreciated.
Gday darren
mate i have a set of coopers on my navara and they are fantastic
garentee50000 km i think
have a look at them
scotty
Thanks Scotty,
Any shop you can suggest locally?
Darren,
Just changed mine over ,did have Perrelli Scorpion AT's on got 60,000klms out of them mind you that is on a hj60 diesel so there is no high speed stunts done . They were great ,unfortunately The size that I needed are out of stock Aussie wide and I needed tyres now so have gone for Bridgestone desert duelers 31x11.5x15LT could get the perrelli's in other sizes but not that one. Bridges have changed there tread pattern so we will have to see how they go.
Barry.
Take photos and memories leave only footprints, respect the enviroment when 4 wheel driving , never be too busy to help out someone in need.
BF Goodrich mate. Top quality tyre. Every mate of mine that has a cruiser, has BFG's, and they swear by them. And beleive me they get the $hit worked out of them, and still manage a heap of K's. They've got all the right attributes...
TT
TT
BFG A/T. This is what i run on my 2.2 diesel hilux, the 32 15 11.5. I've abused these over the last 2.5 years and they've still got life.
aggree tinaroo and Blackened, I run BFG AT on my 80. they are 285 so bigger than you are looking at but I did have some 31x10.5.15s on my 60 and i put 50thou + on them and sold them with 20% of tread left on them (I didnt treat them that well either )!!
They are known as one of the longest lasting tyres out there although i have been told that when they are getting close they tend to go a bit hard and can be a little slipery (didn't notice this at 20%). but i think is a good trade off for a long lasting tyre that works well on wet and dry roads and goes quite well on the beach as long as you let enough air outa them. my dad runs the Perrelli Scorpion AT's on his 100 series and love them, they are a little quiter than the BFGs but you don't get as many Kms outa them. they are a much cheaper tyre though.
When i was in the market for new tyres on my 80 i rang over 15 tyre mobs in Brisbane asking questions like witch 4x4 tyre give the best range and grip and thier price. i think this is a great idea as you find out who knows nothing and who the pros are I got mainly similar answers but a couple of mobs gave me major bum steers!! in the end i saved $20 in total on my tyres by getting quick fit aspley to get them in and fit for me. you will be paying about $220 a tyre for the 31' tyres, don't pay over $230 for them!! best advise mate go to www.yellowpages.com.au and search tyres in your area and give every one of them a call and find out if they will match prices you will save alot doing this.
Brandon...
http://www.coopertires.com.au/default.htm
mine were new on my truck when i got it
ive now done 70,000km in two years and still plenty of tread on them
have a look at the web site and have a read about them i have the a/t model
scotty
just to add
A/T (ALL TERRAIN)
70% Road & SAND
30% Dirt & Mud
Guaranteed to last up to 80,000 kilometres
Designed for long mileage
Reduced noise
All terrain design
Incredible wet weather grip
Extra strength to reduce off road damage
Scottygc, what size tyres do you ahve and what was the price on them? I did look at Cooper when i was searching for a new tyre but thought the price was a bit much (was looking as they are known as a dam good tyre)
Would be interested if Boatboy could get a set of coopers for under $250 each. I think in the size i was after (285) the price was in excess of $300 a lot more than what I was asked to pay for BFG A/T's of the same size.
Brandon...
id would be interested in the price to , Mine were on my nissan when i picked it up so i have no ideaOriginally Posted by BrandonH
scotty
I paid $270 per tyre for my 32'' R15 11.5 about 3 years ago. They are BFG A/T.
Fourbys at Marooka
Take your rig in, tell them what you do with it and they'll help you out. Good blokes
Can't beat BFG AT's for an all rounder. Cooper ST's are equally as good.
Don't judge everything by price, and don't cheap out for a few bucks. You get what you pay for. Cruisers are heavy vehicle, expecially when towing big boats.
Corry
Sorry Fellas'
BF Goodrich the only way to go. Had a brand new set of Cooper Discoverer A/T that lasted 30,000k and the lugs just fell off in the rough. Was told if i wanted to wait around in Kununurra for a month or two until a rep could get there and access the tyres then he would look at a PROPORTIONAL warranty assessment. They were stuffed. Bought the BF's and never looked back. Still have them on 70,000k's later and looking good. (Although they are on a Patrol)