Thread: 4x4 INsurance

4x4 INsurance

Just trying to get an idea of what insurance companies people are using to insure their 4x4's. Just a little bit of history about my experience with my insurer. I just got back from a lovely trip to Fraser Island and find a letter from my insurance company (Suncorp) which states that after a careful review they think my insurance cover falls outside their "Normal acceptance criteria". How they came to this conclusion is that I have claimed three cracked windscreens thanks to tipper trucks on the freeway and most recently some juvenile attempted to break into my car unsuccessfully but stuffed all my locks up with the screwdriver. Now bare in mind I am 43 years of age and have never had an accident since I was driving from the age of 17 and therefore made only this one claim. My windscreen cover which I put extra dollars into which entitles me to one windscreen per year is what they are basing their claims history on (4 claims in 4 years including the claim for the theft attempt). The letter goes on to state that as of the 26th. of September that there will be an additional $100 fixed excess fee charged on any claim on top of the normal $350 standard excess fee. Are they kidding? > I have rung them and advised them that they leave me no options but to search for a cheaper and fairer insurer. Any recommendations? I'd love to hear them. Thanks,

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Re: 4x4 INsurance

Sorry to hear this mate they shouldn’t be changing there mind after a few non driver related clams!!!!

My story. I rang a heap of places when I got my new truck, searching for the cheapest. Well in the end I went with Just cars insurance. I was a bit dubious about them at first as I have always thought them to be a "hotted up" expensive insurer but, they beat RACQ by $400 and NRMA by $200 on total full comprehensive insurance. The excess should be $350 but due to a minor ding 1.5 years ago I am on rating 2 and have an extra $200 excess for the next 6 months. I know the person that told me to try them has had many many clams through them and hasn't had a problem, but he is also paying around $2000 each year to cover his Festia

I pay $760 for $20000 worth of coverage on my 96 Diesel cruiser. Hope this info helps!!

Brandon...

All good info Brandon. Thanks. Something to think about.

That insurance seems a bit expensive Brandon

Hey Poodroo,

Good to see you got home ok .

I have heard a lot of good reports about TCIS insurance for 4wds but I think you have to be a member of a 4wd club to get the best rates through them.

A lot of insurers don't really want to cover offroad type things. They specify that it must be a gazetted road which means they won't cover 4wd parks and other private land.

Tim.

Hi there Tim. Welcome to Ausfish. Fancy meeting you here? Now that I can chat to you on here I can ask you something. Where's my Jew fillet? Thanks for the info on the insurance.

It's in the freezer .

You will have to come over for dinner one night and we will get it out. But that's really hijacking the thread isn't it?

I was insured through TCIS for a several years. There are a few criteria you have to meet (Alarm fitted, over 21, etc), but they are good. They cover up to $500 of camping gear that "was in the car" if anything happens to it too They will also insure extras on the car at an agreed price (which was pretty well priced too). They also give you 1 free windscreen a year. They also cover you anywhere.

For my 60 series cruiser, with a heap of mods, I was paying about $650/year for full comprehensive.

My insurance was due, so I did a bit of searching and ringing around. In the end I ended up saving over $220/year by going with NRMA. They cover me anywhere as well now (They never used to) as long as I am not in a race. For a small extra fee (About $6/month) I get unlimited glass replacement as well... That's glass - not windscreen! So any window! And it doens't use your excess either. Plus I can pay by the month which was a huge bonus for me as I don't have to come up with the cash upfront now! They also covered me for every mod on the car, and gave me a really good valued price on the car! (My base 1984 60 series is insured for $9700 before all the mods )

I'm not saying that they will suit everyone or be the cheapest for everyone, but it certainly pays to ring around. RACQ wanted over $900/year for nowhere near the same amount insured for!

Quote Originally Posted by BrandonH
    I pay $760 for $20000 worth of coverage on my 96 Diesel cruiser. Hope this info helps!!

Brandon...
    What a Rip.
    I pay $311 for about the same coverage on my 2000 diesel XCAB Hilux.
    Budget or Hotline (same place).

umm ok.. Thanks for the info Pinhead and Seahunt will look into it again when its due. maybe its because of my age?? or maybe they have looked my records up and seen i have been on a sespended licence twice (this was when i was somewhat of a hoon, Owned a hotted up EA falcon that was a cop attractant.. haven't been pulled up in the last 4 years since driving Diesel trucks though )
    I am also 27 so should be well out of the "young driver" bracket.. When its due again (2 months) i will ask for another quote. Might ring that "budget" place too and NRMA again although I don't really like getting insurance with a small busness (or one i haven't heard of). I would prefer to pay a bit more and know that if something happens it will get fixed right away.

Brandon...

co-co

I to have searched and have to agree with NRMA offer's larger coverage options at a good rate. Even cheaper if you have other covers with them aswell e.g Home insurance, Health insurance etc.....

Yeah you are probably right Brandon, I don't think Budget would like you.
    I could have got it even cheaper (about $40) if I had not got booked for speeding (72 in a 60) a couple of years ago.

Go here
    http://www.goodshopping.com.au/shop....surance&cat=11

Can do all your Insurance comparisons on line..

Fat_Chilli

I went with AAMI, They cover me for anywhere I can "legally drive", i.e. 4x4 Parks, Private land etc. They have also given me cover notes in the past for 4x4 comps (non timed events only). They were quite comparable price wise when most others wouldn't touch me due to the lengthy list of mods. All mods and accessories are listed on the policy.

Hi Everyone

I recently sold my Ford XR6 turbo ute which I had insured with Suncorp. When I purchased a new D40 Navara STX turbo diesel the Suncorp quote was almost $300 more than NRMA. So in the end I went with NRMA with the windscreen cover and it cost just over $700. I reckon that's fairly reasonable for a car worth just under $50k.

i've joined the forum a bit late,,,,but to add a it of info for you,,,

(i deal in insurance daily,,,,,,,,,)

suncorp,,,,like a few other insurers RAISED their standard excess from 350 to 450 a few months back,,, all clients under renewal/new policies are now effected

insurance works on a claim by claim basis,,,,hence the reason there is an excess,,,to stop all the minor dent n scratch style claims from occuring

windscreen replacement used to be a thing that was the norm,,,,then due to the number of claims made for windscreens,,,we now see them as a once a year only

each time you claim,,, you effect your """rating 1 for life""" or whatever no claim bonus your on,,, YES EVEN RATING 1 FOR LIFE is not guarenteed,,,if you are a multiple claim person after having this granted

IMPORTANT NOTE,,,,ALL INSURERS GO THROUGH A ""HONEYMOON"" PERIOD EACH YEAR,,, IE WHEN THERE PORTFOLIO STARTS TO GO DOWN,,,SO DOES THE PREMIUMS,,

a lot of insurers now under the fsra guidelines MUST disclose benefits up front,,,

4x4 cars are covered on LEGAL roads only,,,, beach driving NO,,,deflation of tyres NO,,,and the list goes on,,

(i've stated this on a number of threads and yet there are still people who don't believe until its to late,,,,, scenario,,,,,deflate tyres on beach to get off the sand and back on the hard stuff,,,, if your involved in an accident,,,or create one,,,or are involved in one,,, the assessor will claim your car unroadworthy,,,hence YOUR AT FAULT,,,trust me)

shop around,,, but ensure that you dont get locked in,,,i deal in SWANN/SUNCORP/ALLIANZ/RACQ/AAMI,,

policy wording is all much the same,,,its just what they cover that differs
    can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE