P.S.
Thanks Johnny
Johnny will be thanking you in the long run, wont take him long to make his 2g back.
Go gas if you want by all means...just a couple of things to remember.
-Mechanics can only work on gas if there trained to (nsw) and theres not many of them.
-If you cant mount it under the car you will loose lots of boot space.
-Gas is not sold at every servo. City is ok... Country gets a bit different.
-You will be filling up more often on bigger trips, especially if your use to dual tanks.
-A lot of guys talking about heat problems, saying there ok. Had cars that had solid cast iron motors, including the heads. Nearly every motor car for the last 7 or so years have had alloy heads at least if not a complete alloy motor. These motors arnt as tough as the old ones and dont like changes like extra heat..etc
Just something to think about... Good luck with your gas.
Why is all the good weather around on weekdays?
Just in case your wondering the first point was aimed at when you get services, breakdown, get regos etcccc. You need a specialists mechanic.
Why is all the good weather around on weekdays?
Originally Posted by boatboy50
Hi Darren,
No worries, glad to be of help.
I see what you're saying with the range, and I'm not sure what you've got planned, but my setup replaced the sub-tank with the LPG one, and moved the spare wheel onto a bracket at the back. Therefore I've now got the 100l main petrol tank, and a 100l gas one. I doubt you'd have room underneath for 2 x petrol tanks, a large LPG tank and the spare wheel. I still only get about 400km's from the gas tank on the highway, but I must admit I haven't had the LPG tuned in a while.
The mileage certainly isn't great (is it ever in a Cruiser?), but when I did the sums and LPG was 1/3 the cost of gas (originally 30-odd cents a litre), I was still well ahead.
I'd tend to agree you won't see a significant loss of power, even towing a bigger rig than mine.
I'd be interested to hear how you get on if you go ahead with it.
Good luck,
Thank Mike,
The latest way they do the installation is to add two extra gas tanks, somewhere under the side of the car. You maintain both the sub and main petrol tanks, and get an extra 70 odd litres of gas.
This should see a very good range, of I expect 1000 km's.
The spare stays under the rear as from the factory.
That's a good idea mate - I guess you'd have a heap of fuel to be carrying around. If you're not intending to use the range too often, you could lighten your load significantly by not having the petrol tanks full. It might also be worth checking how safe they are offroad - mine has a metal plate underneath the LPG tank.
Do you need to preserve some petrol in the tank to run the car when on LPG? This is a slight pain for me as I never get to completely empty the main tank - I run out gas, switch to petrol for a bit and re-fuel the gas...
Good luck,
I meant to mention, my truck's an auto so you might get better fuel consumption in a manual.
Good luck,
I am a courier driver with a 2.6L holden rodeo 2x4 1 ton ute. This thing does a lot of k's sometimes 500 - 600 a day. I get 380k's to a tank which is 80L usually takes 58 - 59 to fill, around the $30 mark. No noticeable reduction in power even carring 1000Kg around.
The thing to remember is if it is going to cost 2k - 3k to have installed and the average driver does about 500km a week, the saving will be (using my fuel economy) about $30 per week. I base that on 6.5Km per litre on gas and about 10km per litre on unleaded. Using those figures it will take around 2 years for the gas to pay for itself and you actually start saving money. With the high k's that I do it took a little over 3 months for the gas to pay for itself. Do the sums for youself using those figures (as that was the figures from petrol and gas on mine from 10k per litre down to 6.5k per litre) to see how long it will take to pay for itself.
Hi Darren
Trip still on?
Chimo (back on deck)
What could go wrong.......................
2iar - depends on the vehicle,and the setup on gas. Cars with electric internal fuel pumps such as late Commodores etc need the fuel to cool the fuel pump as they are not shut off with certain gas installs. They keep running pumping fuel but the injector pulse is stopped and the fuel returns to the tank. If the tank is below 1/4 the fuel pump runs hot and can fail. found this out the hard way with my ute. Since keeping 1/2 tank fuel never a problem.
Thanks Guys,
Anyone wanting more info about the rebate check this out.
www.ausindustry.gov.au
Gas is definately happening, booking it on on Monday.
Chimo, the trip is off to Airlie at the moment due to a few reasons. Maybe slip in a quick trip to the sandy straits as time is a big issue.