that thread relates to third-hand info about vehicles of unknown age on a staff chat board ...Originally Posted by WATACATCH
cut to the chase -
HANDS UP any NEW Defender owners who have had problems with the vehicle. # #
Talkin about Landys isnt ther a Landy Thread in relation to issues with them.
that thread relates to third-hand info about vehicles of unknown age on a staff chat board ...Originally Posted by WATACATCH
cut to the chase -
HANDS UP any NEW Defender owners who have had problems with the vehicle. # #
not me weve got 5 defenders in our family, never had a prob with any of them.......... oh, sorry made a mistake... i did have to change the front disks on my 11 year old tdi as they had worn out does that count????
Originally Posted by CHRIS aka GWH
geez this thread has gone quiet suddenly # #heh, heh, heh, heh
Ok - I've now driven a lot of new 4 X 4's and now have my own opinions.
As always, I go with what I like, not convention.
All my mates are saying diesel - I'm pretty sure I'm going to stick with petrol.
I prefer the power band, response in the sand of petrol - simple as that.
Remember also, fuel is a tax deduction for me.
All my mates are saying manual - I'm not fussed either way but am leaning towards auto.
I've driven both and for the work I do the auto has few disadvantages.
They are surprisingly good on the beach.
And I do use it as a daily driver so auto is nice.
I'd prefer a single cab but I'm leaning towards a dual cab, extra / cab / crew cab.
The back seat is a lot safer to carry camera gear than in the tray.
So there you have it... a dual cab / extended cab petrol....
And the brand? - It’s down to 2... I'll make that decision on Thursday when I get the details of the deal.
Dave ><>
Not too many Defender owners out there by the looks.
Can't beat the auto on the beach Dave.
Ok - the deal is done.
I organised the insurance a few minutes ago - I pick up the new 4X4 from Southside Toyota at 1pm tomorrow.
The new Nuggetmobile is a manual, 4lt petrol, Toyota Hilux Extra Cab SR5 - silver in colour.
The only genuine extras I'm adding are a bull bar, ute liner and tow bar.
Would have been happy with an auto but the deal worked out best with a manual.
I'm sure everyone has a mate that sells cars but if you want to talk to a great bloke, a fisho that's not a hard sell salesman - ask for Noel Clemson at Southside Toyota, Mt Gravatt.
Dave ><>
bloody nice!!!!!!! you'll have to show, 'ol phill, how the toyota dodges trees heaps easier!!!!!1
cheers (great car)
another yota driver to pass on the leisha track
bugger that dam thread i hesitated to post has come back to bite me on the bum again (landy post for those that don't know it was my staff chat it came from) lol..
Nugget, I think you will love your new truck but i don't understand what you mean about having more power in the sand with petrol.. isn't toqure more important 99% of the time on sand?
Each to there own can't wait to see the pics once your have kitted it out and have all your stickers on it!!!!!!
Tight lines,
Brandon...
From the Toyota webiste on torque specs:Originally Posted by BrandonH
The 3.0 litre Electronic Direct Injection (EDI) turbo diesel delivers 120kW of power - 343Nm torque.
The very potent 4.0 litre petrol VVT-i V6 4x4 delivers 175kW 376Nm torque auto / 343Nm torque manual).
Having driven them both on sand, and towed a boat on sand, my choice was the petrol.
If I had gone for a Landcruiser trayback - It would probably have been a different story.
Fuel figures so far are excellent.
I've used 2 tanks of fuel so not a real good test as yet - both times run up just under 600k and both times it used around 65lt to fill.
The V6, 3lt Pajero did around 500k on the same fuel.
Dave ><>
That does sound very resionable Dave I wasn't aware that the petrol specs had climbed up so much in the newer models
Good luck with mate
Looking foward to the pics!!
Brandon...
If it as reliable as my diesel model, you won't regret it nugget. Got it new in Feb...28000 k's and not a single problem.
Sounds Sweet Dave.
By the way I went to Jambo and saw a Red J Truck with a Big V8 Diesel in her. Nice!