Quote Originally Posted by caloundra
    dave
    any details/pics on the pajero??

Daniel

It will be for sale soon.

Dave ><>

CHRIS_aka_GWH

Re: Time to say goodbye to the red rocket

Well dave you bought the brand of boat i suggested, maybe I can make a Landy-Man of ya ....

Most Capable Offroader you will find at the price, straight out of the showroom - genuine #4WD - high clearances necessary for beach launching and towing - all the skid and roller gear underneath is standard on Landrovers. The TD5s consistently return 10 or less litres per 100km. Being a Landrover they don't use a monster powerplant to compensate for poorly matched gear ratios - the balance is right with superior compression delivering torque matched to ratio at lower revs - in the end they are an offroader. They love beach and bush work and are best washed in SALTWATER.

And chicks dig 'em - just ask Lara Croft #

LAND ROVER DEFENDER 90 TD5 XTREME

Price $45,950
    Body 2 door Wagon
    Transmission 5 speed Manual
    Fuel Type Turbo Diesel
    Release Date Current
    Segment All Terrain Wagon - Medium
    Country of origin United Kingdom #

Length (mm) 3990
    Width (mm) 1790 # #
    Height (mm) 1990 #
    Wheelbase (mm) 2360 #
    Track - front (mm) 1486 #
    Track - rear (mm) 1486 #
    Approach angle (degrees) 51.0 #
    Departure angle (degrees) 49.0 #
    Breakover angle (ramp over angle degrees) 141 #
    Tare mass (kg) 1725 #
    GVM (kg) 2710 #
    Seating capacity 2
    Tailor capacity # 20 (bag limits apply)
    Towing capacity - with brakes (kg) 3500 #
    Towing capacity - without brakes (kg) 750 #

Engine description Five cylinders, in-line, SOHC, two valves per cylinder, cast-iron block, aluminium alloy head, turbocharged and intercooled.
    Capacity (cm3) 2495 #

Maximum power 90kW @ 4200rpm #

Maximum torque 300Nm @ 1950rpm #

Cylinders 5 #

Compression ratio 19.5:1 #

Fuel tank capacity (litres) 60 #

Ratio 1 3.321:1 #
    Ratio 2 2.132:1 #
    Ratio 3 1.397:1 #
    Ratio 4 1.000:1 #
    Ratio 5 0.732:1 #
    Reverse 3.536:1 #

CHRIS_aka_GWH

the other option, for almost 50 gorillas you should be able to buy 10 of my 32 year old Landies

Quote Originally Posted by lippa
    a few more bills will get you into a prado, comfy, go like the clappers, but bloody thirsty, 800k's out of 180 litres towing i was initially buying the cruiser rv. till the missus seen the prado dare i say it but the navara probably the best value, but will have less resale value. i work in the car industry (independent to any dealership) and have many contacts. pm me if you like.

you've gotta stop using those 4 letter words around young uns mate?????????

seriously though,,,as my buddy has posted,, and yours truly,,, can assist when you decide on which way your inclined to go

i'm part of the ""pickering group"",, which encapulates,,,,mazda,,,,ford,,,kia,,rover,,toyota, ,nissan,,etc etc

actually theres not to many we don't represent

as lippa has posted,,,

lets us know which make/model you wanting to go and throw us a pm

(i'm first to admit though,,,,,i attend work,,,,,he turns up,,,)
    can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Gorilla_in_Manila

Ha ha Chris.

The Church of Landyology can smell a possible new recruit!

Nugget,

Not sure if the bills will be enough or if you are itching for the new car smell, but I'd have a look at a second hand 100 series LC 4.2L TD.

Yeah, alright I'm biased coz I got one, but I recon they are excellent.

Not sure of the current specs, but my 2001 model has 151kW power. Not sure of the maximun torque but I do remember being amazed that it hit its peak at about 1800 revs and stayed practically constant over the entire rev range, which is what you need for towing of course, but this also translates into good towing fuel economy as well since you don't need high revs to get the torque.

Anyway, just my thoughts and as I said, I might be a tad biased. (but at least I'm not trying to sell you one)

Jeff

New Pathfinder or Pajero diesels similar - good power, good economy and fit just under $45k for base spec. Pajero is end of line though - new model due very soon.
    Prado diesel thirsty and underpowered, and $50k. (New diesel due November I think).
    Navara, Hilux or Triton utes all have good diesels and should be able to get well under $45k unless you want the fancy model. I'd take the Hilux myself, despite the looks, I think.
    2nd hand patrol or (very) 2nd hand TD cruiser options. I wish I had $55k spare for a 2004 TD cruiser wagon ...

CHRIS_aka_GWH

Quote Originally Posted by Gorilla

The Church of Landyology can smell a possible new recruit!

Jeff,

there's a brother coming to your suburb soon.

Gorilla_in_Manila

Yeah, well I've just painted the Toyota logo on my front door with chicken blood, so good luck to them!

Obi___Wan

Hey Gorilla,
    I reckon you are right on the money with your advice with the LC TD, best around by a long way.

I had a Landrover for many years, was very pleased when i finally got rid of it to get myself into a 60 series diesel, even that left the Landy for dead.

Spent the afternoon trying to catch a chook to do my front door.

John.

Prety common site that............Landy with the bonnet up.

Out with the red rocket and in with the white wanderer..already done the basic layout for ya Dave..you won't be disappointed.

Dave if you rember you bumped in to my brother and myself on the beach during the rainbow beach fishing comp just past, we were in the two big 130 landrover defenders that look pretty snazy.

cant speak enough for the defenders, and if you can handle the little bit of reduced luxury ( not that bad really........ not as bad as chris's series truck )
    they are a great truck. i was tipping 4 tonne on the way up to the comp and the chipped td5 had no probs doing the hills near cooroy in fith gear.

there a great, tough, power unit that will take you anywhere and wont rust out beneath you....... i think qld 4wd monthly summed them up nicely... " you can park anywhere you like in them, even in already occupied spaces ".... ......... .." you could drive over a land mine in one "

CHRIS_aka_GWH

Quote Originally Posted by SURF_SNIPER
    ........ not as bad as chris's series truck )
    they are a great truck.

[smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif] [smiley=brood.gif]

saw a Def 90 the other day with people #seated in the back so obviously there is a bench seat option for the back if you want to seat more than 2. It is my intention to be a defender owner by this time next year - not sure what I'll do with the orange girl .

Dave - my nephew had a Navaro the past 12 months - got it new and loved it. He just changed over as his new job gives him a choice of company cars. He went for the latest Hilux - and is amazed how much more he likes it over the Navaro. Given that he was very happy with the Navaro.

The Landrover debate cracks me up.
    Loved the Church of Landology and 'typical landy with the bonet up' comeback.

I came very close to buying a yellow SWB landrover 'Game' brand new a long long time ago.
    They do have a lot to offer - I haven't looked at one or driven one on the TDI's yet.

I liked you and your brother's on Fraser - well set up.

Thanks Pinhead - not sure on the white though!

Thanks to all those in the industry that have offered help.
    Still thinking and looking.

Dave ><>