Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Time to say goodbye to the red rocket

Time to say goodbye to the red rocket

My SWB Pajero has 200,000klm on it and I've decided it's time to start looking for a replacement.
    While it handles my Stabicraft ok, the 3lt V6 struggles to tow the bigger boats I often find myself out in.
    The question is what's next.
    It's a tough decision these days - lots of good vehicles.
    As much as I hate to bow to fuel companies, I have to admit fuel consumption will be a consideration.
    The Pajero uses 12.5lt per hundred kilometres, if I can get better than that I'd be happy.

I'd like a bit of comfort and a few extras like air con etc - I'm thinking turbo diesel.
    I'm definitely not a rev head but was towing a 5.5m Seafarer today and the Pajero struggled.
    It would be nice if it could handle a few tonnes in tow easily but not suck bucket loads of fuel... big ask I know!

Any suggestions?

Dave ><>

Re: Time to say goodbye to the red rocket

What is your anticipated spend?

- Darren

TheDeepSix

Nugget,
    The new Navara dual cabs get my vote. They have had some teething problems with this new model but they will be sorted out.

Check the specs, they have the most torque/power and come with a slick 6 speed gearbox. Also believe they have the best fuel economy.

Cheers Chris.

TheDeepSix

Nugget, just dug'em up -
    Engine
    Bore & Stroke: 89mm x 100mm
    Displacement: 2488cc
    Compression Ratio: 16.5:1
    Fuel System: Turbo Diesel
    Engine Block: 2.5 Litre intercooled turbo diesel, DOHC
    Maximum Power: 128kW@4000rpm
    Max Torque: 403Nm@2000rpm
    Cylinders: 4
    Valves: -

Transmission: 6 speed manual

Gear Ratios
    First: 4.692
    Second: 2.705
    Third: 1.747
    Fourth: 1.291
    Fifth: 1.000 Sixth: 0.827
    Reverse: 4.260
    Final: 3.692

Suspension
    Front : Independent, double wishbone with coil over shock
    Rear : Rigid axle with leaf spring

Brakes
    System: ABS
    Front : Discs
    Rear: Discs

Wheels & Tyres
    Wheels: 16 x 7JJ Alloy
    Tyres : 255/70 R16

Steering
    Steering: Rack and pinion, power assisted

Towing
    Towing Capacity: 3000kg(with brakes) 750kg(without brakes)

Dimensions
    Length (mm) : 5220mm
    Height (mm) : 1774mm
    Width (mm) : 1850mm
    Weight (kg) : 1985kg

General
    Fuel Tank Capacity : 80 Litres

Cheers Chris

When the time comes for an engine overhaul on my trustworthy old 7 seater Pajero I am seriously contemplating going whole hog and turbo charging the old 3.0 litre V6. She will tow well then

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Mr Bean - I'd like to pull the whole package in, including accessories, for under $45,000 - big ask I know!

Thanks Chris for your efforts - appreciate it.

If I was to put a wish list together - no regard to price... it would look like this:
    1 - Land cruiser RV diesel tray back.
    2 - Land cruiser RV diesel tray back
    3 - Land cruiser RV diesel tray back

But the price is way out there...!

I like the Mitsubishi Tritons but took a 2004 model for a drive today and was real disappointed - drove like a Mac truck only with harder suspension!

Hilux are high on the list.

The new truck has to tow, handle on the beach and have a high level of comfort / luxury and be fuel efficient!!

At the present I'm going through the motions... the long process of deciding what's best for my application.

Dave ><>

dave
    any details/pics on the pajero??

Daniel

Nugget,
    Currently driving a Miissusbitchi Triton,2002 model,loves the fuel,parts are as dear as hell (thank god the company pays the bills) and the resale value (Im led to beleive is crap),65ltr tank gets just over 500kms,you do the maths.

Toyota Hilux's look good but dont know much about them,my ute is up for renewal now and will be getting the Nissan STX,no real reason why,probably for the auto and just a lot more room in them then others, absolutely over changing gears!!!!!!

This info is probably as much help as an ashtray on a motorbike,but have a look at them,i think the petrol auto retails for around 45k.

a few more bills will get you into a prado, comfy, go like the clappers, but bloody thirsty, 800k's out of 180 litres towing i was initially buying the cruiser rv. till the missus seen the prado dare i say it but the navara probably the best value, but will have less resale value. i work in the car industry (independent to any dealership) and have many contacts. pm me if you like.

Obi___Wan

G'Day Nugget,

From your earlier post my pick is possibly to expensive. That is a turbo charged landcruiser, auto, independant front suspension, drives like a car.

I have had one now for around four years and its the best vehicle that i have ever owned.

I tow a heavy quinnie to Nth QLD twice a year, just get on the HWY, point it where i want to go, turn on the cruise control, goes up all the hills, down all the hills at what ever you set it for. A mate with a landcruiser naturally asperated diesel manual can not keep up with me.

Gets to Rocky on about 80 liters.

Last Christmas i had to go to Sydney, on the return trip i filled it right up at Campbell town, drove north detoured into Laurieton, back to the HWY, straight through to Deagon in Brisbane, filled it up again 108 litres. Not towing anything!

Mate for a vehicle thats around 2 1/2 tonnes, pulls like it does, is as comfortable and i reckon has the ecomony of a fdamily car.

All the BEST Mate,

Hi Nugget

have u considered petrol/gas ?

i have a turbo diesel, manual Patrol, and would like to change to a petrol auto cruiser. don't know if there's an auto tray back.
    i prefer auto for towing and beach, and I'm getting lazy, and with the turbo on mine not coming in till around 2000rpm pulling heavy boats up steep ramps is challenging at times, imo.
    the diesels can be thirsty also.
    2 cents

Big_Kev

Whats happening with the J truck Dave?

Why not another Pajero Dave? $45k would see you in a GLX 3.2L turbo diesel 5 speed auto NP Pajero. Comes standard with air,cruise,cd,abs,stability & traction control rated for 2.5t towing and will easily return around the 10l/100.
    Add a 10 year warranty with 15000km service intervals, independant front and rear suspension gives a great ride. If youve had a good run out of your current rig you could do a lot worse than taking a test in the new Paj. The grunt of the newer turbo diesels is impressive to say the least.
    P.S yes Im biased but who here isnt

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

Quote Originally Posted by Reel Hard
    Whats happening with the J truck Dave?
    She's my pride and Joy - spend more time tinkering with it than driving it.
    Now that fuel is so expensive I'm thinking of dropping a big block V8 in it - then I'll have an excuse to polish it instead of driving it - would sound nice though wouldn't it!

Dave ><>

Quote Originally Posted by Argle
    Why not another Pajero Dave? $45k would see you in a GLX 3.2L turbo diesel 5 speed auto NP Pajero. Comes standard with air,cruise,cd,abs,stability & traction control rated for 2.5t towing and will easily return around the 10l/100.
    Add a 10 year warranty with 15000km service intervals, independant front and rear suspension gives a great ride. If youve had a good run out of your current rig you could do a lot worse than taking a test in the new Paj. The grunt of the newer turbo diesels is impressive to say the least.
    P.S yes Im biased but who here isnt

Cheers and Beers
    Scott #

Yes looks impresive - haven't had a drive of one yet.

Looked at the Hilux and Prado today - Hilux turbo diesels are hard to get.
    Hilux has 2250 towing and the Prado 2500.
    Still haven't rules out a 78 series - just have to sharpen my pencil.

Dave ><>