THE END RESULT.....! Picked it up monday!
It was time too go, say good bye to the old prado that had served me well .
We decided" the wife and i " the old girl was getting to thirty . So we starting looking at
a diesel model. In spite the old girl chucked the harmonic balancer off ( cost me $900 ). You bit*h..! The new girl gets picked up friday & back too fishing i go ...!!! . Thats if the missus lets me. Got some crawling to do now . 2006 3.0L 5sp man GXL
THE END RESULT.....! Picked it up monday!
Good onya Pitsa, you won't be dissapointed. They have one of the best IFS systems built.
Picked it up Monday though instead of Friday, would have been a loooong weekend I bet.
Corry
nice TOYOTA ROCK
SWWWWWWWWWWEEEEEEETTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!
Nice rig mate,now go and get her DIRTY......
The bloody thing Gets dirty goin to the shop & back .
I'm not sure about the black now that I've got her !!!
CHEERS MARK
Looking good.
I've been toying with looking at one of these in auto for the wife.
Would like to hear some real world economy figures esp offroad. Have read one report of a simpson desert crossing and the diesel used the same amount as the v6?? Doesn't seem right to me.
I suppose you've heard not to install bullbars onto these models?
C.J.
nil carborundum illegitimi
Mate 2nd hand info, but well documented on other sites -
Both alloy and steel bars are causing cracking through the body across the wheel arches, and in extreme cases cracking radiator mounts as well.
Toyota doesn't want to know about it, but the issue is most of the bars are genuine.
That's about all the heresay I have for today. Try exploroz for links to the owner's forum chasing this up.
C.J.
Jewie The bullbars on these look crap, so no way !
C.J No I had not heard of this problem . But I'll have to ask my mate at
motorama ..... Cheers !!
MARK
CJ
In relation to economy, I have a 120 series TD and around town I use 12.2l/100k, and on the h'way I use 10.1l/100k. Sorry can't give any offroad figures 'cause I haven't had an extended play yet.
Seamus
C.J I got talked out of buying petrol 4 there economy & resale
But they do tow very well . So i've been told & the auto's in cruise tend's to change back alot .... But you do get a 5 speed in the V6 Auto !!!!!
All i can say is so far so good. GO the TOY'S
MARK
Thanks for the info fellas,
I'm running an 03 lux v6 auto, and had to install a long range tank to tow a boat up Fraser - literally.
Having said that, that's more to do with the size tank Mr Toyota gave me - 60l
I just returned from a trip up the cape and across the gulf towing a camp-o-matic m3 (1600kg) and running 285-75-16 tyres (33"), for an average for the trip of 17.2 litres per hundred which I think is respectable.
I've heard some scary figures about the new v6 from other tradies running the utes, but again, I'll believe it when I see it.
I suppose what I'm trying to do is justify another diesel to myself (because I love them), but I haven't been able to make the figures add up for a few years, but now Mr Toyota isn't slugging me an extra $7k for the privelage I can have another look.
Can someone talk me back into an oiler??