Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Massive Loss In Power

Re: Massive Loss In Power

Chris, I've had the belt replaced less than 5000km ago. I am also aware of the timing, I have asked the mechanic to come out and set the timing up for me. Last thing I need is bent valves and smashed pistons.....

I'll double check with the intake manifold, nothing out of the ordinary yet.
    What do you think it would be if there was a black sunstance?

PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

Big_Kev

900 aint the end of the world. It could have been worse.
    Did you get the injectors looked at as well?
    Good idea to clean the tank like said and run a good fuel filter system, the standard system is just enough to do the job.

Gday Dave
    # # # # # # # # I agree with reelhard that you should get the injectors done if you can afford it as the old ones will have the tips restricted with carbon deposits thus altering the spray pattern & reducing burn efficiency & you still not getting the full benefit of the pump o/haul .....
    # # # # # # # # Also ask if the repairer can give you a failure analysis to determine why the pump failed ............. Mal

Why didnt you just set fire to it?

I know $1 for a box of matches is throwing good money after bad into your ute ... but I think it is the only way

G'day Dave

The black substance is mixture of carbon and atomized oil sticking to the manifold this is very common in deisels. A squirt bottle full of diesel sprayed down the manifold at idle will loosen it up.

Cheers Chris.
    You only need know 5% more than the person to whom you are speaking to be considered a genius

Thanks for the tips evceryone.

I've been in melbourne since wednesday, just flew back in.

Pete, I know mate... I was so bloody close to "slipping her outa gear on the boat ramp"

Thanks sec, I'll be spraying the diesel in through the manifold to clean her up a bit.

The injectors were serviced not long ago, they are fine. Just had the truck running and everything seems to be ok. Touch wood.

PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au