Quote Originally Posted by ANYFISH
gday mate
I put the old tyres off my hilux on some ally rims and stuck em on my trailer before we went to fraser last year.

I am a bit worried because the new axle and spring setup weighs a bit more than the old ones and on the rego papers it sait it weighed 749kg with the old axle. I am going to put the old axle setup back under it because of this reason.

anyfish
anyfish
the extra weight of the hilux alloy rims would only add about 50kg to your ATM aggregate trailer mass
if you like your set so much you could get the trailer recertified to say 900kg by adding brakes and see and engineer
my suggestion to you would be with the setup you like ( hilux rims and tyres) and put it over a weigh bridge and see what it goes and add weight for all the fish

what i would do if i wanted to put the same rims on my trailer as my tow car would be run independent suspension this will allow you to run the larger tyres and keep some kind of lowered height. another advantage of running I.S. is you don't have to run a axle through the tough stuff.
see your local 4x4 trailer builder to do the convert.

hope this helps
kleyny