Thread: Defender Dilemna

CHRIS_aka_GWH

Defender Dilemna

Hey guys,

My dilemma. I was thinking about changing the old girl - the car you fools - over next year for a new defender. The main reason being the safety and comfort of the kids and to get a vehicle that could really go wide and high (if you know what I mean). I’ll cry a tear when the S3 goes, she’s been a great vehicle, has never got bogged in the salty stuff.

I pulled into a dealer two Saturdays ago to have a look at a new defender and was told about the new model coming out when we wondered if colour options were a possibility (the princess’s input). He didn’t seem to know much about the new model apart from a better dash and a more powerful but efficient donk.

So I went searching and found the following info in brief in Oct. “Overlander” & November “4x4 Australia”.

The new Defender ’07 will have a new engine and gearbox. The new turbo-diesel engine is a Ford/Peugot joint venture and is a 2.4l, four cylinder with common rail injection using solenoid injectors, variable vane turbocharging and intercooling.

Peak power is 90kw with 90% of the power available over 60% of the rev range. Torque is 360Nm (up fro 300Nm) at 2000rpm with more than 315Nm from 1500rpm to 2700rpm. The gear box will be six speed with a wider ratio spread to make cruising more efficient (20% higher top gear) and the crawl speed even lower.

The BIG change is the flip up air vents are gone as the new dash is enclosed - they claim 50 percent better airflow in the cabin and reduced cabin noise. the audio system has been improved.

The 90 has had a minor seating restructure but the ergonomics of the front stay the same.

So..... do I buy the devil we know with the TD5 motor that has pretty much had its creases ironed out, has a long history so a solid supply of parts and is generally regarded as a reliable powerplant OR do I wait until next year and get the new beast.

The other advantages of the current model include getting bullbars and side steps etc for free as they try to clear remaining stock (Landrover have deliberately restricted supply so there isn’t a glut though).

As for the new model, I can handle the lack of the front air-flaps (after all I’ll have a/c and I usually shut the flaps on the S3 when over 80km/h anyway unless its really hot). The engine apparently is the same stock as from the FORD TRANSIT DIESEL - does anyone know anything about its reliability? It will mean you’d expect that any ford dealer diesel mechanic should know their way around it. Also, common rail technology has been in the smaller ford range for a while now.

So, the old model or the new - any input would be appreciated.
    (except keeping the old girl - that’ll just make doing the deed harder sob, sob, or buying a japrusttrap)

CHRIS_aka_GWH

Re: Defender Dilemna

one of the reasons the flaps are gone a different engine profile and bonnet to suit - christ where are the scratches and beer can ring marks - that's not a landy ...

here read the blurb http://www.worldcarfans.com/news.cfm...fender-details

CHRIS_aka_GWH

the new dash - a bit girlie really - where are the cracks for godsake!

hmmm these days its much of muchness, meaning everyone has there own ideas on what package cars work for them and their needs. personally i dont like poms or their disco's. but if i had to chose 1 id go the old 1 where you know what floors they have and allow to fix them in your budget. then you got noproblems. and piece of mind. instead of plastic fantanstic wonder cars.

chris,,,,if you get stuck and need any additional info,,,,i work for the ""pacific motor group"""
    which encompasses ""pacific landrover/volvo"" as part of their wide range of vehicles,,

i'm at work today and gnerally have the site open in 1 of he many offices i run,,,give me a bell and i'll pass you on to 1 of the guys

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

CHRIS_aka_GWH

i appreciate the offer choppa - are you talking a cyber chat with one of the guys cause that'd suit as I need to do some work at home today so I can get out in the boat tomorrow.

G'day cris.
    That new front end is intersting, Looks as it has a hood bump much like the XR8 falcons. The interior is massivly modern now, but it was only a matter of time.

PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

apologies chris,,,, i missed the reply,,, not because i didn't look,,,,more to the point i had an absolute flat out day,,,,, just got back home and logged on,,,,

i'll tee up a call for you with no probs,,,,pm me a contact no for monday morn,,,,i'll pass it on

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

CHRIS_aka_GWH

no worries choppa - i just logged on now (10.30pm) and thought I'd be in the choppa bad-books. I got a bit distracted. My brother who is in the RAAF rocked in with little warning after getting a transfer from WA in control of this little beauty....

CHRIS_aka_GWH

i can't ride a motor bike so I thought I might be able to pull some skippy-chicks who were fooled by my cunning as I wore his helmet driving my landy - chicks dig landy-mans ... errr men.

CHRIS_aka_GWH

but,

it appears there were no chicks about.

wayne_cook

i hope the new model still leaks water on the right foot.i don't think it's a extra hopefully still part of the package.

NeilD

I love Landy Porn

That new one looks the goods to me. I have worked through a S2, 109 County, 110 Countyand now a Disco TD300. I don't know where people get the idea that they are expensive to maintain. I have spent very little over 25 years

chris, the new defender will be very tempting indeed. the td5 are a very good truck and when chiped, go like a rocket too.

in all honesty, i never open the front flaps on my landie now as the old truck (110 ) which had them always open developed ireversible rusting in the vents. better to keep them closed when on the beach. a lot of guys i know silicone them up. i reckon they look great thou.

i would like to see how the new engine/ vechicle goes for a year or two as like most vechicles when the have a donk change ect the manufactures normally iron out the bugs in the first year or so.

i would without hesitation look at a good td5 as well. if you ever want to take one for a run let me know.