Thread: Cam Belt Changes

Cam Belt Changes

Hi all, I have a 1993 3.0 ltr V6 Pajero that is well and truly overdue for a cam belt change. Does everyone out there change them religiously every 100,000 klms as per recommendation? Every time I drive it I am on edge about it snapping and ruining the whole engine but for me it is a case of affordability at the moment. Too many bills and just after having a relatively tough month with unexpected expenses keeps putting the job off. If I knew a mechanic I would simply offer a carton of grog and buy the part and let him guide me into doing it myself. Would be the only way I could afford to do the job quickly but it looks as though I will have to save and pay someone big $$$'s to get it done down the track and hopefully it will hold out until then. I have actually seen the inside of a motor after a cam belt snapped. Top of the valve was wedged firmly into a piston. Not pretty.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

evo_wagon

Re: Cam Belt Changes

well all i can say is it might cost a little bit to get it done but if it breaks it will cost you a hell of a lot more if you are prepered to take the risk than dont change it but i know what i would do and thats bite the bullet and change it. there are a pain to do thats y a lot of places charge so much.

kleyny

poodroo

some jap engines free spin but i dont know if yours is one
    i always change mine at 100000km not worth the risk
    i hear what your saying with the hard times but it will much harder if it breaks.
    let your fingers do the walking and get heaps of quotes even if it means you have to drive some distance to get it done

kleyny

Hey Poodroo,

How's the family?

I believe I read somewhere that the 3l does not do the same sort of damage as the 3.5l if the belt breaks. Best place to ask the question to be sure would be on the Pajero Club Vic forum (http://www.pajeroclub.com.au). There are quite a lot of Qlders on there so they would probably be able to tell you who to go to for a good price as well.

I had mine done at 90k by the stealer but I figured the car had cost me so little to service up till then that I would pay the rates for the big service when it was due.

Tim.

Hey there Tim. Family is fine thanks and yours? Will email you soon with regards to a dinner invite. Thanks for info on the Pajero. I will look into it. Currently I am chasing up prices on getting mine done. Chat soon.

G'day Poodroo
    Get the cambelt changes asap if it's really overdue. A small inconveniance now is much much more preferable to an engine rebuild down the track because of the cam belt.

If you are mechanically minded it's easy enough to do, but get some guidance. A workshop manual would be a good thing to have a flick through, just pay attention to the timing wich is critical.

Hope it all works out well. Have fun otherwise

PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

Ring around Poodroo, my daughters lancer was quoted $500 at mitsi dealers then found a little workshop and done for $125. I thougt this was a bit to cheap but that was what she paid

The 3 litre Pajero is a non interferance motor. so if it breaks there should be no damage. But I still wouldn't like to snap one all the same.

Mine was done a 200K also the water pump needed replacing, I sourced the parts from the neighbour who works in spares.
    Then I rang lube mobile to put it in they where very cheap so I went that way cause it takes me 6-8 hours to do one, and I couldn't really be bothered.

Mate I would take the belt cover off and inspect the belt for cracks and fraying if your intention is to keep driving it for a time.

I have taken the risk with my 3 litre camry and done 200k with the same belt on. But I am taking a big risk with that motor and wouldn't recomend it.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

Do they have a belt or chain?
    I thought the Mitsui's from that era were chain driven cam.
    Anyway I changed my Hilux's belt myself at 145k.
    Was due at 140, still looked like new.
    Belt was only about $60 at Repco, took nearly all day but then again I am slow.
    Replaced all the other belts while I was at it.

If it is a chain I wouldn't worry too much about it.
    I had a 93 magna that went 250k without a change , they guys at Mitsubishi said they didn't bother changing them unless they were worn, like loose with no more adjustment left in them, which surprised me because the book says change at 100K.

Hi SeaHunt. Yes it is definitely a belt in the 3litre Pajero. Thanks to all for your input as well. All duly noted.

G'day Poodroo..

Not positive, but I'm fairly sure that the 6G72 3ltr V6 paj engine
    is not a free spinner, but still, not worth the risk...

You should replace the cam belt idler and tensioner bearings,
    and the oil seals as well...

Harry..