Thread: D-Tronic

D-Tronic

Howdy all,
    I am eagerly awaiting the arrival of my new Hilux, its a bit late but thats another issue, and I have a question for those in the know. I am thinking of fitting a D-Tronic to the car after hearing some good things about them, but I am concerned whether Toyota will honour their warranty if there is an issue with the vehicle. I know they are a plug in type of accessory that can be easily removed, but I have been told that if there is an issue and you remove it restoring the factory specs, they will be able to tell that you have had one fitted. Surely this would give them enough ammunition to make it a 'too bad, so sad' problem if something goes wrong with the car. Anyone know for sure what the answer is to this??

I have also read recently in posts that people have had troubles finding a good Toyota dealer. The vast majority are a pack of brainless morons who don't know much and are not really willing to go out of their way to sell you a car. I bought my Hilux at a price that nobody else could come close to, they were professional (as far as Toyota dealers go), and the only issue I have had is delivery time which turned out to be a Toyota Australia issue, not the individual dealer. I am o/s with work anyway so that aint a big deal.... I won't mention the dealer cos I am not sure of Ausfish rules regarding this, and I am not an advertising agency, but if you are in the market for a new Toyota, PM me and I think you will find that these guys will come in much cheaper than everyone else. I shopped around for a full week all over Brissie and the coasts and ended up back where I started. Admittedly, I have had repeat business with them, but they are good. I was even told in a roundabout way that I was bullsh#tting by a dealer somewhere near Strathpine when I told him the price he would have to come close to so he could sell a car. "Its impossible, you could not get one at that price, someone has made a blue" were his exact words.

Sorry for the rant, back to my question, will a D Tronic void my warranty???

Shane

Re: D-Tronic

What the hell is D Tronic.

What does it do ?
    How does it do it ?
    How much does it cost?
    Is it another Snake oil Product ?
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

Quote Originally Posted by Roughasguts
    What the hell is D Tronic.

What does it do ?
    How does it do it ?
    How much does it cost?
    Is it another Snake oil Product ?
    "Safari Dtronic Performance Computers" http://www.arb.com.au/Dtronic.php #
    Nop.... not a snake oil product have had 1 in a gu 3l patrol for 2 years now (100000km) and love the performance it has added to my patrol...

ShaneC.....yes it would/could void your warranty if Toyota found out.. I don't know how they would no if 1 had been install as it plugs in after the factory computer.... I'd give Safari a call and see what they say about it..

I never had any problems with nissan and warranty,, but then I didn't tell then ... #
    I also have #35" feet on, front autolocker and a manual torque convetor lockup override switch on her and the still replaced a turbo and 2 rear lsd's under warranty.. guess it comes down to your dealer too

Hmmm thank's candogu, interesting Damn it i got 3 petrol motors.
    But sure would like a power increase In me 3 ltr Pajero.

Do they have a product for petrol motors or don't it work at all for them ?

Cause if it be a after computer device can't see why it wouldn't do the same for a petrol motor.

But then again I can't get me head around Electronic gizmo's.
    Any reason you can see why it wouldn't work on petrol ?

Oh yeah how much does it cost.

Roughasguts,,, I beleave they only make them for the newer computer controlled diesels... They cost about $1500 to $1600 last i checked... I got my d-tronic for 850 second hand...

at a guess there would be other companies out there that do Performance Computers/ chip's for petrol 4wd's.. Give 1 of the 4x4 shop's a call #

Roughasguts

3ltr pajero, what year is that?

If it has a computer there are a couple of alternatives. Powerchip may have a chip available, or you could talk to Chiptorque here on the
    Gold Coast. They have a 'piggyback' computer tuner that gives an increase in power. Also, Ultimate Performance down here do turbo and supercharger setups for all sorts of 4X4's. I saw a Dodge Ram with HUGE front mount intercooler at their workshop.

ShaneC

One of the first things Iwould do for power is exhaust. TaipanXP on the coast may have a set for it. Or you could get a custom one done at the sameplace I went (I would recommend the custom as jigged exhausts are not as good) Pagey's Pipes.

If anyone wants numbers or contact info just PM me an I can give them toyou. I hope I haven't broken any rules by stating names.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Candogu, 850 bucks, nice investment.

Thanks for that, also did some reading last night shift on them
    (All nighters hate them) seems no negative reports on them.

Unlike some clone thing, magnets, and the like.

Brett 1907

She's a 94 NJ 220K Man, almost show room condition, Trouble is it's worth nothing maybe 5- 7K if i'm lucky, of course cost me heaps 5 years ago. And it's a little hard to drive after the 2 quad cam V6's I swap over with the wife.

Anyway I know there gutless but she sure could do with some more puff in the sand hills and towing the boat. Actually anything that has an incline
    Thing is do a spend the coin good money after bad or just drive it towing the boat for what it is.

cheers.