Thread: Daihatsu Feroza

Daihatsu Feroza

Hello All and what a great find this web site was.

Has anyone had any experience (good or bad) with these 4wd s ?

Thinking of buying one or a sierra as a 1st 4x4......

redspeckle

Re: Daihatsu Feroza

I use to have a Daihatsu Feroza A great little 4wd even has low range in it not some of the small 4WDS out their the body is made out of gavizines tin so won't rust as much and top 1.6litre engine in it and good manual gear box you can take the sunroof off and back part turn it in to a soft top and great if you want to,
    They were made in japan Not This Korean sh#t
    I still would own it today if wasn;t for until my ex misses rolled it
    I hope this helps you have any questions post them here
    I wouldn't buy a sierra, a Daihatsu Feroza is a better vechile that's my view
    Mitch

Thanx Mitch.
    Looking for a beach runner bush basher fishing vehicle. Already have a falcon so running 2 6 cyls is too exxy.
    But with a light trailer, you could kit out for a pretty good extended w/end.
    God I love fishing..................................

Paul, mate yes I owned a 1994 model Feroza from new for the following 11 years and 315000km. The only money that was spent on it was 3 timing belts which were like $65 each and I fitted them, regular oil changes and the occasional fuel and air filter. I never spent a cent on mechanical breakdowns and it was still running very strong when I traded it. After having it on the beach regularly from the first week I bought it, I only ever had 2 small spots or rust repaired and they were behind the rear wheels were sand seems to get trapped. It was a small price to pay for alot of years of enjoyment. As for the 4wd capabilities, I found it excellent on the beach and also in the bush and as Mitch said the low range is great. I used it to to a 4.2m tinny everywhere and it was never a drama but I am not sure about towing stuff on the beach, I reckon they may struggle a bit. I highly recommend them and I would still have it only I got a larger boat and could not tow it.

Good luck
    Lee
    The wait is finally over.........was worth every minute..........let the RIPTIDE rip..........hell yehhhh

co-co

Mitch,

Dont knock the Korean 4x4 mate! I own one and have had no drama's. Have you had a bad experience with a Korean 4x4 to comment? #

Paul,

As for Feroza and Sierra's dont know anything about them to comment, but there are other forums out there that can help try

http://forum.australia4wd.com/

a great forum for 4x4 owners.

WATA

Thanx Lee
    Only makes me more hungry for one. Can't see too many on the 2nd hand market. Good sign.

Paul.

watacatch
    Thanks for the hyperthread loks COOL

The Daihatsu range have always been very reliable given the japanese build quality. have taken the Daihatsu terios (feroza's brother) up to fraser many times and never had an issue - they are so light they can go anywhere. Tackles Indian on even the most powdery of days - only issue was clearance under the front when we went through some inland tracks. Feroza should be more clearance.

I remember one day going through indian head with some mates in a landy.... see ya on the otherside we said as we went through indian no worries..... 30 mins later the landy comes through the head after bogging about 3 times on the way! and they were worried about us bogging. best thing about the Terios was the 4 cylinders... cheap to run!

Other handy thng about the feroza is u are generally too small to have to tow anyone out of a pickle!
    just one more cast........

My cousin has one for sale on the Sunshine Coast

A mate has a diesel Rocky on the farm...can't kill the thing
    It does everything from fox hunting to pulling irrigation around to paddock bashing to.... Only thing it hasn't done is sand work....yet
    I recon it would be pretty hard to find a better little 4x.
    Only issue was the fuel gauge doesn't work (because the kids ripped out the wiring from the back on some rubbish on the ground) and now the speedo doesn't work (same reason)

hey mate i had a feroza and i towed my jetski up to doule island point a few times it struggled a bit in the soft stuff but managed to the job, with out towing would be very hard to bog if driven properly, great little car i would still have it but needed something bigger as they are bit small,