Looking for ideas

Thread: Looking for ideas

Looking for ideas

G'day people. I am trying to refine an idea I had which will basically stop me from losing my front number plate on the Pajero. The problem I have and it seems to be a design thing with the Pajero is that when you traverse quick enough through water hazards the water somehow forces its way forward from behind the front number plate which either folds it upwards or rips it off all together. The last M&G I went on I ended up nearly losing it once again and it is only a reasonably new plate which now looks worse for wear having splits in it. I know I will lose it completely on the next trip if I don't do something with it so here is the idea. I want to design and cut an alloy sheet of metal to the same size and shape as the number plate to use as a backing plate to firm it up. Will line the mounting holes up with the number plate and drill them through and then bolt the whole thing to the front of the car. I doubt I would need much more than 3-5 mm in thickness to achieve what I want to. Is there any suggestions from any of you out there as to where the best place would be to buy a small piece of alloy to do the job? Obviously I wanted it to be strong, light weight and non-corrosive.

Thanks,

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Re: Looking for ideas

poodroo,,,check ya local hardware for any offcuts laying around,,,ally would be the go,,easier to drill/cut,etc etc

one of the trades that came through work had a nice a neat little job,,,he used channel,,and sheet backing

cut at 45 angles and made a frame for the plate,,,painted up it looked really neat and tidy,,

some of the guys on here also play around with sheet metal,,,may be worthwhile getting in contact with scott (finga),,,and see if he can help ya ot as well

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Any sheetmetal or engineering shop would have off cuts of the right size you could probably have for nothing. Actually, I think I've got some lying around. If you're going to be down on the coast I would be happy to give you some.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

You aren't robinson crusoe there. A lot of 4wd's do it - including my hilux. I'd have second thoughts about preventing the water from exhausting through the front splitter though - where else is it going to go? what will pressurise?
    My thoughts are that the radiator will block with water quicker causing the fan to vacuum forward into it.... You may have thermos on the paj so it might not be an issue.

I just wouldn't like to see you fixing something surplus to requirement causing a more detrimental effect than the one you're trying to circumvent?

C.J.
    nil carborundum illegitimi

Cut up an old plastic cutting board, or a new one.
    Be a lot easier to work with, and source.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

Mount it on hinges and let it flat instead of bend and then it won't build up pressure and impact elsewhere like rad.

What could go wrong.......................

He He now your thinking Chimo, little cable attached to it to pull up for the red light cameras.

Ah what am I thinking if it's like my Paj, can't possibly get a speeding ticket.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

LMAO.. you guys are full of good ideas. No wonder I posted this thread. Food for thought now. I could flick a switch which folds both front and rear plates upwards for when I go through speed cameras or redlight cameras. Gees you guys are good. Ahh but that's right. Pajeros cannot possibly exceed the speed limit. Thanks for the tips one and all.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Ausfish Platinum Member jimbamb's Avatar

i mounted my boat trailer plate on mud flap/floor mat rubber.saved if from damage.maybee u could do that

As long as you can incorporate RAG's idea of the pull cord, the rubber "flap" not flat would be good too. If the hinges were used a rubber strip to keep the whole thing quite would be good too.

What am I thinking, its a Paj, there would be so many other noises you wouldn't hear a bit of extra metal on metal

Sorry didn't proof it too well originally, but the idea still got thru.

What could go wrong.......................

Hi Poodroo, et al.

You could apply for one of those slimline
    front plates from the transport dept.

Harry.

My house and will cost ya [s]2[/s] 5 stubbies.
    One for you, [s]one[/s] 4 for me whilst I cut and fold it
    You'll have to book after x-mas though
    I reckon we could tart the old Pajero a bit.

Quote Originally Posted by choppa
    poodroo,,,check ya local hardware for any offcuts laying around,,,ally would be the go,,easier to drill/cut,etc etc

one of the trades that came through work had a nice a neat little job,,,he used channel,,and sheet backing

cut at 45 angles and made a frame for the plate,,,painted up it looked really neat and tidy,,

some of the guys on here also play around with sheet metal,,,may be worthwhile getting in contact with scott (finga),,,and see if he can help ya ot as well

thanks mate....dobing me in again
    Have a great x-mas matey and we'll catch up in the new year for sure.

Big_Kev

Andy you need to convince your better half you need a new front winch bar to hold the plate on solid.
    Preferably attached to a nice shiny new 4b.
    If she does not understand I am sure the boys here will be able to coach you the correct approach to acheive your goals.
    Kev.

Big_Kev

Oh and merry Christmas too.