Offroad Meet & Greet - Page 9
Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: Offroad Meet & Greet

Re: Offroad Meet & Greet

Brett,
    thanks mate,, a red never goes astray and bugga didnt realise the V8's were on... but reckon ill see the replay on Foxtel at some point....whats the comp at Landcruiser Park?
    look forward to meeting you guys.. ps Bec is insured for whatever thats worth (lol)

Quote Originally Posted by Brett1907 View Post

.......My mate won't be coming in the patrol, something about being unable to keep up with the 'lux!!! My brother-in-law might come if he isn't working, I'll know toorrow.

What ! Nissan can't keep up with picking up the parts of the Lux ?

Lockers are banned on this trip !

See ya Saturday night
    Last edited by Black_Rat; 28-02-2007 at 10:53 PM.

Even though I said my congratulations by phone I will say it here also. Congratulations Mike and Bec!!!!!
    Just a thought also about bringing people along. I have noticed that a couple of people who have paid for campsites have had to pull out. Now these would be okay for others to use however I think that they will somehow need to have proof on them that the site was paid for ( I printed out the receipt for my site) just in case the ranger stops in to check us out. I will have my permit to traverse in the car with my camping permit receipts. My daughter asked if her little best could come along too and I have to admit I did think about saying yes but then remembered that my camping application was for 2 adults and 2 kids so I had to say no. So basically what I am saying is whoever comes along should be accounted for on the paperwork so that should the rangers check us out we won't have any issues.

Hey guys, hope you have a great trip but go easy on poor old Cruiser93 (Mal) The big sook has just had two weeks off work because he pulled a heart muscle..or was it an eye problem so he couldnt see himself coming to work....oh thats right it was a "dartboard" related incident....I will let him fill you in but please please go easy on him because he's soft And Mal you didnt think I would miss the opportunity to have a dig at you did you? Have a good one mate and Ill catch you when I come back from hols.......if you feel up to coming back to work of course.

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

Thats a good point Poodroo. I have my permit to traverse in the glove box from the last trip there. If I do bring an extra body I'll make sure to add them tomorrow so the paper work is in order.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Getting close now.

Ok, a quick re-visit.

I'll try to aim to get there by 10ish. My camp ( 9 ) is at the far end of the area. There is a big log....ya won't miss it. This site is also closest to the swimming hole.

Hope to erect tents/ tarps etc and have a cold drink and lunch. Set off south towards A break about midday. There are some places I would like to visit on the way down, but if that doesn't work ( as some are not well sign posted ) we will get to see them on the way back. There is one spot " Diana's bath " in the dirty weekends, that has a spectacular lookout. looks over to Wivenhoe dam etc.

We should be gone for about 4 hours I reckon, maybe longer, depending on road conditions and bravery !!!

I have a big 4 burner plate BBQ that can be utilized for dinner. We will set up the campfire.. somewhere. we'll know when we get there. Don't forget to bring torches.......for the little ones. A night time wander could be on the cards.

there are large Goannas there, so keep ya eggs etc tucked away in a secure place. Sunday morning is up and at it. BIG BBQ breakie and we can decide on what's doing. Maybe another trip to places scarey, and there is always a rainforest walk.

A good mate of mine ( and Andrews ) is racing his very extreme 4WD at landcruiser Park over Sat and Sun. It is about an hour up the road. Just a thought to see what REAL 4WD's can do.

If someone wants to bring along a rod, I suggest light line, a float and small hook with garden worm attached.

GPS's are going to be handy as well as the UHF. Make sure your batteries are charged if that is the type you use. Also the firewood, I have some, but more will be needed.

I will not be meeting you guys at the servo. I am going via a different route. That'll be interesting. If I am not there by say...........Monday, start panicking !

Sounds good Phil, we are looking forward to it, also did you get your car sorted out?

Well after serious consideration I may not bring the fishing gear on this trip. My original plan was to see if I could fit Bribie Island in on Sunday and maybe have a fish there but common sense tells me there won't be enough time for it after all the exploring. Ah well, plenty of other fishing opportunities will come up I'm sure. See you all Saturday.

Yes Mike, the Nissan is GO !

details in the " diesel issues : thread in this forum.

Hi guys, I'm a 100% definate for Saturday & Sunday. Just me this time as the nightwatchman is organising her mothers 50th birthday party for next week.
    As is their fashion, it will be BIG.

Anyway, tried to pay some camping fees and of coarse there are no longer any available sites on the website. Nothing available means you can't pay. All I will have is the 'lux and a swag to sleep in (along with stuff that can stay in the 'lux). Oh yeh, and the red!! Basically, I'm hoping someone will let me roll out the swag in their camping area. Naturally there will be a beer or red offered in appreciation of their generosity. If the rangers come I will just tell them the truth and see what they say. Surely they wouldn't be too harsh.

See you all tomorrow. I'll try to get there before you go exploring, but if not I'll start backwards on the trek and call you on UHF21.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

Unhappy Re: Offroad Meet & Greet

Guys unfortuantly i'm not going to be comming to this one...

First thing is with all this wet weather around Mt Mee of late I am not keen to do this trip as a newbie bush basher (with a nice and ding free truck!!!!! as well as no money to fix it if I break it ). The main reasion i was keen to go in the first place was because of the amount of others being there to help if needed and give advise on situations and ways to manover through the bush tracks.

I was quite ok with the idea of doing this in dry conditions, but I think the tracks will be scoured out and quite slippery with the rain we have had the past week

Secondly the weather tomorrow morning is looking way too good to pass up a trip out the front I haven't had a go at these Macs yet and realy want to give Phil's slugs a go on them
    (you have to make use of good weather when you have a small boat!!).

I hope all that are going have a fun and safe trip!! Enjoy and hopefully next time I will be able to tag along will be looking forward to all the photos when you return!!!!!

Brandon...

Brett,

It shouldn't be a problem as I believe there are two sites spare and the camp fees have been paid for. I have paid for 3 adults for campsite 5 and it's only myself so there won't be any dramas

Still at work so catch up later the IT people may be watching me

Brett, write down this number:-

Now type it into your computer in your publisher program. print out a tag with this number on it. Hang the tag from your swag. all is good.

brandon, the tracks will be OK, it's only the ' short cut ' tracks that will have issues.. No one will traverese these if we are unsure. There will be, well, I suppose everyone will want to stay. non-dinged .

Especially thedeckie in his new STX.

If you get the bug, turn up via Woodford on Sunday morning for breakie. bring some spottie mack fillets !!!!

All looks set people.

Bugga me if I wasn't followed by a Paj, this arvo

Looks like between Poodroo, thedeckie and myself, the firewood situation is under control, but by all means if you have some we'll burn it.

I am not too worried about the forecast, and as I stated above, it's only the shortcut tracks that could be washed out and become a problem for those that do not want to scratch their baby.

I'll have my UHF on 21 from the time we depart Brisvegas and be travelling with thedeckie and crew.

or you could try me on 0419 020 697. Not that you'd want to talk to me anyway, well, maybe if you get bored !!!!!!

Andrew, I heard that Kyle wants to be in a real 4WD, one that CAN do Donuts !!!!

Cu's there about 10ish..................sort of !

Cheers Team Nissan <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <><