Thread: OFFSHORE HUNTING 1

OFFSHORE HUNTING 1

Well after watching the rugby league test on friday night i hooked up the rig and headed for mooloolaba ramp. There was quite a crew on board this trip there being 5 of us, doug,pete, romano and with the old boy as well there was plenty of joking and chatter so the trip was going to be enjoyable no matter what. We hit the first areas around the northern banks well before daylight and the odd fish started coming over the sides. With such brilliant conditions i was keen to hit as many spots as possiable so it was a case of catch a few and move on.
    The early catches consisted mainly of pearlies with the odd snapper. As the morning approached and the glow of a sunrise appeared some quality snapper came on the chew and the boys had a ball battling the bigger ones.
    From there i continued working north with the hope of some reds. i crossed a showing of solid fish and dropped lines on them, no one hit the bottom and all five of us hooked up it turned out to be large pearlies and quality nobbies. I ran back up on the fish and dropped the lines again this time the baits made it down with another multipal hookup. Everyone was on! the results were 3 reds one bust off to ramano and pete,s rod couldnt hack it and exploded like a gun shot and he also blew a top fish.
    With a bit of rerigging and pete using the back up gear the following drift was a mix of reds,nobbies, pearlies,kingy's,cod etc. Usually i'd anchor on such a showing but ive got a pinnicle marked close nearby and after about 5-6 drifts i checked it out, and what a showing it had!
    The fishing never slowed, we lost a few to sharks, lands a bit more variety including plenty of parrot and moses perch.
    By late afternoon we'd nearly run out of bait, and being such a full on day the boys and myself were pretty buggered so we headed for home, i wish everyday had fishing like that...catch ya ...foxy.

i took a few pics this time..
    dad with a parrot..

Re: OFFSHORE HUNTING 1

me and a pearly

My pair of reds

pete and some tastey moses

Notice doug in the background of the previous pic, this is what he had.
    Was a nice pearly.....

Thats a great report and well done on the fish.

Made up for it with the next fish

Romano with a midday snapper

That is awesome Dave. Sorry i missed you out there i was about 2-3 klm west of where we spoke. I could of swaped bait for fish....lol...only to help you out of course.
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last, my share of the catch( in an 800ltr esky)

Chris, it was a shame i missed you, alot of boats down that way and i wasnt sure which one was you, the big platey blended in! have to catch up another time! ...foxy

Top day Dave, good size pearlies and nice reds. The weather was perfect out there. Top catch.

Luke

G'Day Foxy, great pearlie mate, imagine if his gut was full . Well done.
    "May your ratchet keep screamin"
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

Now that is what I call a TASTY eskie [smiley=chef.gif]. Very nice indeed.
    Cheers, Jay

Geez Dave thats a great catch [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] .... I can't wait for Offshore Hunting 2.