Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: COBIA BAG OUT

Re: COBIA BAG OUT

I didn't read your reply before posting Paul, here is to helping you reach your 50 post reply target.

All I have to say is that we could do with more people in this world that have that sharing attitude you possess when it comes to fishing.

CT

[smiley=thumbsup.gif] Thanks CT.

Damm it I just put another reply on.

Well shame on you blokes killing all those cobia.
    There you go Paul here's another post to reach that 50.
    You now owe me a six pack next time i see you.

Cheers Greg

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

Paul and Dave, great work on the cobes
    they are around in force this season and we should see alot more cobe
    reports like this one.

well done boys

hi paul,
    almost at your 50 replies.
    my 2 bobs worth to stir the pot.
    personally i cant see why you guy's would keep so many cobia when you get offshore fairly regularly and catch very good quality fish. give me a bit of red over a bit of cobia any day, but as you said you got a feed for a few people. not my go, but each to their own. they are a heap of fun though. we got our fish on spinning pillies
    dazza

Number 50 post!

Nice fish mate keep up the good work! As snappa says "Fillet and Realease"

Mitch

[smiley=laola.gif]

Let's all accept that this is a chat board. People should not be bagged for expressing their opinions, provided it is done in the right manner.

Also, criticism of someone else keeping alot of fish has nothing to do with whether they are a successful fisher or not. Not everyone on here posts reports about all their catches. Chemmy you have a big head and need to pull it in. Wasn't too long ago you couldn't catch jack. Luck boy you've got daddy to take you fishing aren't you?

There can be a difference between doing what is legal (ie keeping within bag limits) and what is 'right'. I just hope there really are heaps of cobes out there, and that this isn't just an exceptional year for them.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Awesome Catch Lads.

jealiously is a curse!!!

MAD!

Yes it was a great catch, and yes, you didnt do anything wrong according to the rule book. But seriously, keeping 30 cobes was overkill. If you don't want to hear this, then don't post catches like that on the internet.

Good on the people who stuck it up ya! If we're a little bit sensible maybe our kids will have a chance.

Fellas that's just greedy, but that's my opinion. i've bit my tounge on this one for a while. but seeing this is a forum and everyone's opinion is shared. I personaly wouldn't do it and don't do it.. and even if i did i wouldn't be able to afford the phone calls to let everyone know to come round and pick up some fish.
    A lot of people look up to you guys on this site.. Remember that.
    It's not like you guys only go fishing once a year.
    Everyone winges about the goverment closing areas, reducing bag limits and increasing legal sizes.....Well i wonder why.?
    Food for thaught but i bet you are eating cobia...........

reply #55

well done paul and dave that would have been a great day
    and I'm sure your arms feel abit longer after a session like that
    its great to give your neighbours/friends a feed aswell nothing wrong with that at all

Daniel

I admit i catch alot of fish over a given time, heaps more then i could ever hope to eat. Reef species like snapper, pearlies etc are all good and well, but in my local area im a big supplier of fish not only to friends and relatives but every old person in my street gets fish off of me, not for money but as a treat.Come christmas time i get more chrissy cards then anyone i know.
    This is where the problem lies, old people fear getting bones in there fish and cobia and mackeral are two types of fish that are not only easy to fillet but i can guarantee no bones.Now mackeral dont freeze and keep as well as cobia and if i go out once in a year and bag out on "cobia" and thats 10 fish people, ill bloody well take my ten and do with them what i please.
    This year ive caught and released more fish then many of you may have done in a life time, ask regulars on this site how many large snapper and pearlies i let go on some trips, it would horrify many of you.
    I shouldnt have to justify myself cause people who know me know better but for those that dont, i dont kill for greed ,there always purpose to the cause.
    Many people cant catch or afford our local seafood and the delight of giving some away is very rewarding, try it...foxy

There just jealous Foxy (including me) given that most of us wish we were in the 10% of fisherpersons catching 90% of the fish
    Damo

Good on ya Foxy. Keep the reports coming. They inspire me to get out there more often. I also agree with feeding the elderly neighbours fish whenever possible. I try and do it as well - although I'm sure mine aren't nearly as well fed as yours

nice cobes boys .............. if you caught your bag good luck to ya ........ some people just can't stand to see someone else use there own judgement. nothing worse than holier than thou.

Keep fishin guys
    BigE