Thread: It was meant to be a marlin trip

Re: It was meant to be a marlin trip

top notch pearly

ripsnoter pearly there mate how heavy was the wahoo??

Jeffo maye have caught it - I'm gunna eat it

Wayne, It's the first time I've crossed the bar in 4 years but Ian's been over a fair bit recently. The channel is sort of towards the left as you go out. The biggest problem is there's no deep water access over the back bank - it's shallow all the way across. There's no way I'd be coming in towards low with any sort of swell. You'd hit the bottom as easy as - especially in a bigger boat.

Chemmy, the hoo would have only gone about 5-6kg.

Cam, Jeffo's hoo took a skipping gar. The second hook-up came as we dropped back the swimming gar after a check. It hit the swimming gar on the drop back but let go. It then nailed a little orange pusher lure which was running long on the shotgun. Must have pissed it off as it went passed.

thanks again for the trip brett. hope to do some more fishing with you as summer rolls along. maybe help you to get leanne (and others) their first billfish.

hope the pearly tastes a treat

Good stuff Brett and happy chomping
    I still find it a bit of a trick to figure out exactly where I place the lure when I troll especially if I'm driving, I just loose track of it. What have you found to be the best way to get them to sit at roughly the same distance or don't you reckon it matters too much?

the lures and baits we troll are all visable from the boat, if your talking about deep diving lures then working it out is a bit harder. you could mark the line with some floss or something. or just take an estimated guess. different free spool times will stagger them well enough.

I saw you heading north on the freeway sunday morning. Yeah it was me in the ford with the haines on the back!
    At the speed you were going i guess you were running late!
    P.s I told the dolphins about you......
    Cheers birdy!

Better than nothing bugman.....nice pearlie too!
    Scrub

AT least you came home with a ripper pearly

Jeffo, was it caught at the same area we ran into you the other week. If it was, that area has produced some good pearlies lately

Top pearly mate, they should be here very soon.

mark- didnt end up anywhere near where we saw you last weekend. further north.

Roota,

Had me thinking all day - who the hell was in that ford towing a signiture. I don't know anyone who owns a signature.

Speed what speed Just showing you the power of the new souped up Landy. Goes like a rocket

Thanks Jeff and Ian for a great trip. I don't think it will be our last.

Bugman