Thread: good fihing in close

good fihing in close

Me and my brothers went for a quick fish at our secret little spot 25mins out from mooloolaba on saturday. After getting to the mark we sounded around to see where the fish were holding, as expected they were on the three 1m high bommies. This isolated gravel bed reef with about 20msq of wire weed on it always hold a very large school of Yakkas on it sometimes holding from the bottom up 2 30mrs high and always very tightly packed and under attack. Mixed in with them is alot of pearlies.As soon as we anchored my 2 brothers started pulling double hook ups of pearlies why I was having a bite to eat. I jigged some live yakkas and dropped 1 down no more than 5 secs and bang a maroi cod was on.This reapeted the second drop as well.I butterflied another yakka and dropped it to the bottom and pulled a 64cm red which supprised me for this area. Next livey got nailed and was stripping line from the reel 8 mins later an estimated 30 kg aj was carefully lifted on board for a few quick pics and hastilly released. As we had bagged out on pearlies we headed for home....( at home we realised we had miscounted was 2 short.

Re: good fihing in close

AJ

The Catch

Good boy that you let that aj go now that aj is mine
    by the way well done boy,s [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]

Top effort RK ! Nice catch and great to see another mooloolaba fisho ! Welcome to ausfish mate....foxy

Some good chewin there...well done.. nice to see the aj goin back

Retired Honda Master Tech

Well its better under counting then over (: Well done good to see that the fish can be in close.

gotta love them ambo,s!!!

heck , damn fine AJ there ....how were the arms ?

good feed to go with , can't complain about that

Nice to see a good feed NOT coming off the banks

Nice going lads.

Those are ripper fish. How much lead and trace did you need.
    Snags

Billo, the arms were fine

Snagged, we were using mostly 50lb main line with 80lb trace and 8oz snapper leads (12oz on the livy rig to avioid tangles as i wate in freespool, and let the fish swallow the livey before moving up to strike.My brothers were floating down and never got to the bottom.)

great aj for close off mba, im sure zeeke wants some of this action
    if you ever need a decky im sure he will be there with bellz on

Chris_Riethmuller

great going fella's I also have a favourite spot in close where we pull alot of just under reds and the occasional legal one, can you tell me what depth roughly
    rgds Beefa

Well done

Louis