Reds and more Reds - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Reds and more Reds

Re: Reds and more Reds

big HUGS!!! awww... [smiley=iloveyou.gif] [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]

woah woah woah [smiley=stop.gif] ? [smiley=devil.gif] [smiley=behead.gif]

iam only hugging ian get your own man
    haha

Gee greg youve got a few questions to answer on this post lol

Quote Originally Posted by dfox
    Crickey Greg even though "baby number 2 due this coming Thursday" ie today, ya gotta get ya priorities right mate (hopefully u have & all is well with the little'n) - look forward to hearing from u soon - Rip
    Haines Hunter 650 'Horizon' 200 4st Johnson (aka Suk DF200) call sign "Dozer" or "Uripper"

Quote Originally Posted by dfox
    I think Vertico may have a few to answer as well
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Well i will try this again. >

I had finished with the reply a couple of nights ago and just as i was about to post it we had a very close lightning strike which took the power out. Bugger >

The Baby doesn't want to show it's face and the doc may let it go for another week. It's only 2 days overdue maybe i can get another fishing trip in.

Thanks for the comments everyone.

uripper- Usually beach launch from DI Point but with very little protection from the N-NE winds at the moment we have been heading out the bar of late using both Tin Can Bay ramp and the ramp near Rainbow beach (Carlos point)
    The only place to get some protection is by sneaking into the bay area of DI Point where there is a large cove protected by big sand bank running to the SW of the headland. The boat is only a 5.5m JBS plate alloy cuddy cab powered by a Suzuki 115 fuel injected 2 stroke. Sorry no pics

Lmao Mark

Brejen- I will take a picture of the gps closer next time no worries at all. It does not show co-ordinates while on the plotter screen

Beefa- Depending what we intend on chasing the distance when targeting reds can range from 40-80km from DI. The depth to the shelf can vary but its mostly 60-70 m for most of the way to the shelf (depending if your fishing south, east or north of DI. The further south the deeper it is to the shelf and the opposite when you head north.)

Dave those red fish certainly require the effort that’s for sure. When the bub comes mate I will be sure that uncle Dave gets a call. (All uncles have to change nappies ) And even non-uncles by blood still have to do it.

nhoj- Being in the areas we fish the only fish that’s shows on the sounder like that is reds. They can be identified pretty easy. The sounder is a JRC ff50. Top unit.

Rob- Good to hear from you mate but it's disappointing to see you are to busy for some fishing . You have gotta get your head together mate and think like a fisherman. Remember fishing comes first. Must catch up soon.

seajayman- The reel is the new Shimano Tyrnos 30 loaded with 55lb mono line matched to a 6 foot custom made rod by John Pope at Rod Design Scarborough 3203 4877. Top combo and good for many different applications.
    The rig we use on reds is just a Paternoster single hook set rig with ganged or single hooks. (50-100 pound leader)

snagged15- Those Reds were only average sized fish and can grow double that size but are not that common. A good red is around 8-10kg with a stand out fish around the 13kg. Around a15kg Red are a fairly rare catch and anything over that is a one in a lifetime fish. The Biggest to date we have caught is 18.1kg which was a site to be seen. (as pictured below)

Pic of 18.1kg Red

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

and another sideways

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

Ah Gregie,

hope all goes well with the hatchling and we'll see pics, no doubt.

And Yes, I have been quite ( I can hear ya )

Many reasons.....................

BTW, bloody ripper Hussar, we rounded up some at 1770 a while ago running in at 50cms odd. Great on the chew !

May get to catch up around chrissie !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Excellent work mate
    They are some big, great, excellent and pritty fish you
    I hope everythink goes good for your miss's [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]

Jay [smiley=bandana.gif]

Quote Originally Posted by Reefmaster

Brejen- I will take a picture of the gps closer next time no worries at all. It does not show co-ordinates while on the plotter screen

BUGGER. Mate thanks anyway.

All the best to you and the wife and the new addition.

It's FULLY SIC man