Marlin, Mackeral, Dollies and Wahoo off the Tweed - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Marlin, Mackeral, Dollies and Wahoo off the Tweed

Re: Marlin, Mackeral, Dollies and Wahoo off the Tw

Toppy

Yup ate the last of the dollie at work today YUM

Leigh

The fish that came up on the lure on the 50's was also a good size, but the problem is that we got that good size fish just on the back of 9 mile so i will be sticking to the 50lb gear from now on wherever I fish. Kev dropped a good fish on the 8kg in that area last season in about 20fm so it looks like the slightly bigger fish could be anywhere.

Great fish there Rob,
    "Reef Hustler" - Seafarer Victory 6.0m & 225hp Honda

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Sounds like a very full-on day there Rod. Well-planned and good results as well. Couple of quick questions: Were you pushing 9kg of drag or thereabouts at strike and if so, what would you drag have red-lined at sunset? It looked like one of the reels in the pics was a TLD 2-speed?? Finally if you're using the Gamakatsu SL12s on the smaller bills, what would you be using chasing bigger fish. Sorry for so many questions.

Cheers and top effort again
    Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Well done

Louis

I must say I am a bit slack when it comes to testing drag settings. When I put the rods out I sort of judge the the amount of drag I have on and when I get a setting I am happy with I leave it there. Generally when we tow with the SL12's we use about 2,5 to 3kgs on the strike and push it up to about 3 to 4 when fighting the fish unless they stay down deep and you have to push the drag right up to move them,like with that fish we pretty much knew something wasnt right so had to apply max drag to move it. We would have easily had about 10kg of drag on at the end. I dont know how the hook held but I reckon that all the leverage was on the pec fin and that is why the hook didnt open. For the bigger fish on 50lb gear or more the popular hook seems to be the Mustad stainless 7691 S but its very difficult to get a hook up on the smaller fish with these hooks.
    There should be heaps of guys that would be able to answer these questions better than me, Like SMITHY and JEFFO

hope that helps mate

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Sure does Rod.

Cheers and Good Fishing over Christmas.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

top report Rod!! some sweet fish aswell.

top stuff rod,
    love the pics of the dolphin fish
    cheers dale

bloody awesome rod

Yup cant wait till next Monday will be out there chasing them again

Good to see you having a bit of luck with the Marlin, also glad to see you T & R.

Sound like it's going to be a good season up there.

Well done.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Roz they have been a bit patchy but i reckon they should be around in good numbers after chrissie YIPEE

Ausfish Gold Member

Very well done.

Sometimes we get a reward for earlier failures.
    This was a pretty good one.

Rod , you've been having some good luck with you lately haven't you ...covering the rivers and out wide .
    Top haul ..you lucky lucky bastard

what an action packed day ,must of done some k's
    well done.