Thread: A good finish for 2005

A good finish for 2005

Well what can I say but the missus is a legend. I got a leave pass after only having our second child only a couple of weeks ago so myself the old man and his fishing buddy Andy headed out the Wide Bay Bar first thing Tuesday morning in good but sloppy conditions and headed wide. A couple of hours later I sounded around looking for Reds and found what we were looking for. For a change there was no current at all and we all hooked up on Big Reds with myself and Andy being dragged back into the reef and busted up after a few big runs. > The old boy was the lucky to get his coming and pulled a stonker of a Red and after that we proceeded to pull many nice reds and loose many big ones to the reef and sharks soon became a problem as well. Andy was onto a good fish, which took off like a rocket midway up and then turned into a dead weight. Turned out to be big Green Job fish head thanks to the sharks and looking at the head would think it might have been an easy 15kg fish or more. I kept the head to mount (no dirty thoughts for those who were) as I reckon they have one of the meanest looking heads in the ocean looking a lot like a t-rex Dinosaur. Anyway the fish soon went off the chew because of the sharks and the fact we lost some big Reds first up but that’s fishing and we had more then enough. Went looking for some new ground and found plenty for future trips and while trolling a few lures picked a skip jack tuna for the efforts. Worked our way back in picking up some big Moses Perch, Hussar, Gold Spot Wrasse and parrot. We headed back to DI in the afternoon for some protection as it was blowing a good 20knots of NE. Wednesday we stayed in close and pulled some Pearlies before heading for the bar around 9am. Outside the bar was plenty of surface action that appeared to be spotties so on went a LuckyPhill Slug and the Spotties were coming aboard. We drove towards a school of them and just as we got to it a big Spanish mack come straight up through the school and jumped approx 10 metres into the air with out a word of a lie. Never seen anything like it and we were amazed the height it came out. We had a quick troll but fuel was getting very low so we kept 3 spotties and headed for home. A good trip with the sharks giving us again another flogging and a total distance of 265km was covered.

Sorry good pics kept for you know what.

Regards Greg

The Biggest Red of the trip.

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

Re: A good finish for 2005

Nice report Greg, awsome fish. nice red!!

Green Jobfish that got Sharked >

Its on a 55ltr esky -could have been a 15-20kg fish?

www.wickedfishing.com.au The place for wicked fish pics, articles and DVD's. Your ultimate reef fishing DVD "Double Island Point & Beyond" on sale now.

mean looking from the front

one more

I guess it was a very nice break from home duties.

Very nice results too.

DaneCross

Awesome Greg. That Red is a ripper. Do you have any other heads mounted? I'd love to get a Wahoo mounted, gotta catch one first
    Top report as always, I'm glad you got that leave pass too
    Dane

Greg,

mate you neva cease to amaze us [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Hows the fuel bill for 265klm

Not that it would matter comin home with trophies like those.

Retired Honda Master Tech

As usual great report!!!

Very envious of those great fish you catch.

Hayden

Well done Greg on another top report. You must be getting sick of eating reds, so can you drop a few off at my place on your way through next time.

Amazing Greg. You sure work hard for your fish and your long suffering missus is a credit to you and herself. Well done to both of you.................and your old man and Andy

Mate love your report. Great catch. You couldn't have asked for a better way to end 2005. Good work!!

Hi Greg

Awesome result there mate and good on the missus for being such a sport. Those reds sure are inspirational. Still have never had the thrill of nailing one myself, but I sure can imagine it every time I read one of your reports. And how's that green jobby - holy cr@p that's huge. What a shame it got eaten, hey?

My head was literally nodding in agreement as I read your bit about the spaniard jumping 10m in the air - I've seen that happen once myself off the front of the northern end of Bribie while we were into a school of spotties. Most people I tell the story to just say "oh sure, I believe you", but I can tell they really don't. Some other people have also witnessed it themselves though, so it's good to chat to them and share the experience. And an awesome sight it is. What a thrill.

Happy new year and here's to looking forward to many more of your reports to come in 2006

Rob.

great catch mate, must be doin something right for the misses to let you go so soon

great catch mate, must be doin something right for the missus to let you go so soon .... well done