Picked up Birdey, Swano and Missing_FNQ for an early morning run to the banks...got away from Mooloolaba shortly after 3am sunday to introduce the Riptide to the Banks. As others have said...the trip out was lumpy...at one point we were in suspended animation and i think each one of us were thinking "this one's gonna hurt"! We dropped a couple of metres into nothing but survived. after a 21/2 hour trip we arrived to our destination.
Birdey pulled a nice snapper first drop, Swano the next and Mick dropped a beauty courtesy of a crook knot I tied....sorry mate...then the dolfins turned up and it went quiet for the next 10 mins or so...we cubed up some mullet fillets and soaked them in tuna oil to send down as burley....worked a treat...the snapper really turned it on...between 3kg and a 7 kg snodger Birdey picked up...we bagged out by 10am...so went trolling for whatever may be around but particularly hopin a 'hoo would come along...and it did for an 8 inch run...picked the only mono leader we had out in our spread...bye, bye lure...tried to find some marks down the southern end to pick up other species but all we could catch was those red things that had already filled our 130ltr esky...It really hurts to return 4kg snapper so we trolled a little more but decided to head back and we were home by 11.30am
Had a great trip, 125klms round...great company...great fish...and it was good to leave them biting
The lads have the photo's and will post them up in due course
'Til next time