Thread: Northern Banks Snapper bagout

Northern Banks Snapper bagout

Picked up Birdey, Swano and Missing_FNQ for an early morning run to the banks...got away from Mooloolaba shortly after 3am sunday to introduce the Riptide to the Banks. As others have said...the trip out was lumpy...at one point we were in suspended animation and i think each one of us were thinking "this one's gonna hurt"! We dropped a couple of metres into nothing but survived. after a 21/2 hour trip we arrived to our destination.

Birdey pulled a nice snapper first drop, Swano the next and Mick dropped a beauty courtesy of a crook knot I tied....sorry mate...then the dolfins turned up and it went quiet for the next 10 mins or so...we cubed up some mullet fillets and soaked them in tuna oil to send down as burley....worked a treat...the snapper really turned it on...between 3kg and a 7 kg snodger Birdey picked up...we bagged out by 10am...so went trolling for whatever may be around but particularly hopin a 'hoo would come along...and it did for an 8 inch run...picked the only mono leader we had out in our spread...bye, bye lure...tried to find some marks down the southern end to pick up other species but all we could catch was those red things that had already filled our 130ltr esky...It really hurts to return 4kg snapper so we trolled a little more but decided to head back and we were home by 11.30am

Had a great trip, 125klms round...great company...great fish...and it was good to leave them biting

The lads have the photo's and will post them up in due course

'Til next time

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Re: Northern Banks Snapper bagout

rhys

good snappa and returning them must hurt ...

reading all the reports the BANKS was the place to be this weekend..
    bugga

wrong choice ... went to tempest...

next time ..maybe
    "whats the time"

Dead right there snappa... I let my deckies talk me out of it...
    Oh well. If I didnt get amongst them like the msarter of us did, at least I can drool over the photos

thanks revs
    was a hoot of a mornin in one of the nicest rigs ive been in
    got ya message bout the crownies just in time (phew)
    cant wait to hit em again soooooon.
    heres a few pics
    cheers swano

the happy skippa-fish -boat

me pb snnnnnnnapa

bit of a feed

nice catch, we got much the same, bet the that won,t be your last trip out the banks hey the old girl knows how to turn a good feed on when she wants too( the banks)

You're right there Pittymick,

I went to the banks more than 10 yrs ago on a charter and got among some nice mixed reefies then but no snapper...the Snapper were really firing yesterday...we dropped some real beasties and we only caught Snapper and that was a new experience...we were constantly amazed not at the numbers but the consistent quality.

Everyone knows you don't catch snapper in summer . won't be long before we get among them out there again hopefully

Glad to hear you were among them too...

rhys
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Rhys,

Thanks mate for the day out in the big girl it was very enjoyable.
    Great crew and the fishing was a bit like clock work with everything we done working just like it should have,great day out!

Pics to come, was going to post a few last night but i woke up some time after the cricket finished.

Talk soon mate.

Birdy

Sounds like a top day out Rhys and a very good lookin rig you have there. Took us almost 2 hours in our Haines on Saturday to get out to the middle Banks. What size donk is on the Riptide?

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

noluck

well done revs nice fish there
    good to see your new rig is fish magnet (or it is paint job )
    cheers no_luck

G'day Paul,

Its a 2005 150 efi black anchor...chewed a heap of juice flogging it out...
    Going out was dark and quickly found out 26kts was a bit ambitious...cut it back to 15kts and 3500ish revs...still copped the occasional lumpy one...I found angel gear particulaly disturbing...all quiet and the motor freely revving to a 3 metre drop, I heard one of the guys breath "ahhh Shhhiiii...." then we hit bottom! tough hull! Very impressed with the ride...

Coming home was a blast 4000ish revs and 48-50klm/hr (changed the gps from nautical miles to metric as it makes more sence to me!) and took a little over an hour

All up used 157 litres for 125 klms...not too bad...will certaily be doing it again!

rhys
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Yeah thanks No_Luck..good to give her a good blooding...Maybe it was the paint job that they came in for a look at...works for me!!!!

trying to work out how to get the blood and guts smell out of the carpet now!!!

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

What a day.............
    Many thanks to Revs57, Swanno and Birdy for a great day out on the water.

What made it even better was the fish were caught early and it made for a pleasurable and confident rest of the day

Rev57, I hold no blame for that crappy, blasted, accursed, foul, miserable etc knot.....just kidding

Birdy..........Hurry up with that photo of my biggest coz thats the only one

All up a great day with even better company.

PS. Heres my share that was taken out even before that pic of Revs with their share was taken. (Torch went 1.1kg )
    Delivery driver stopping at most tackle shops and servos from the Sunny Coast to 1770 over 3 days. Maybe I should pay them

Nice feed there

Well Done

MAD!