Yellowfin,Kings And trevs down the Tweed.

Thread: Yellowfin,Kings And trevs down the Tweed.

Yellowfin,Kings And trevs down the Tweed.

Hi All

Hope you all had a good Australia Day judging by the amount of people on the water it looked like half of nsw was on the Tweed.
    Me,Toppy and Kev went out the Tweed yesterday for a whatever bites fishing day. We started off tolling for Marlin and went 0-2. Both strikes ended shortly with the SL 12's not sticking,pretty hard to believe but hey thats fishing. We then headed shallower to do a bit of livey fishing and scored some good size Kings. While I was waiting for a bite on the livey I started flicking a minnow around, casting up onto the shallow part of the reef and working it out off the drop. I had a crunching hit that took off and I called it for just about everything before a good size fin popped up. It gave me a good go on the spin gear I was using. A few casts later and I hooked another fish which we thought was a GT and this time almost got it right with a good size Bigeye Trevally being the culprit. All in all a good day on the water with great conditions.
    Even managed to go for a walk on the beach with the missus to keep the points up followed by a few bundies and cokes and a good steak(sorry no lamb for me prefer the steaks).

Good Fishing to you all

Regards Rod.

Re: Yellowfin,Kings And trevs down the Tweed.

The 'fin'

One of the Kings

another angle

The Bigeye Trev. man they go hard on the spin gear.

Hey Rod, a great Oz day for you mate!!
    Looks like the Nine has got the goods on it at the moment.

One helluva stonker Big eye trevor there. But the size of that stella next to the kingy makes the fish look small mate!!

No fishing to report back to ya I've been MIA for the last 6 weeks as you may have noticed!!

Catch ya soon mate.

Franco

Cheers mate ,its definately time to get your rig out there mate.

Rod

Ausfish Platinum Member mattooty's Avatar

Some beautiful fish there rod. How heavy is the braid on the 2 threadines?
    Did you keep any for a feed?

some good fish there rod, looks like you made the best of the conditions

Some nice quality fish there.

Well done, and loved the pics too.

GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

The light thready has got 14lb fireline on and the heavy one is a jig rod with 80lb Bionic Braid it is a machine of a rod that stops the big Kings in their tracks.
    We kept one king and the 'Fin for a feed and let the others go. Plenty of meat on them.

Rod

Ripper fish Rod. Onya for braving the ramp and getting rewarded.
    BB

BB

It was heaps worse trying to navigate back through all the skiers to get to the ramp. Those guys are mad dunno how they dont kill each other.

nice fish rod, i'm gonna have to hit up kev for a trip out there with you guys one day soon! What reel is the smaller threadline with the 14lb line? pity about the Marlin, maybe next time?

oh damn it ... i wish those were my catch ... still waiting to head out jigging .... by the way nice catch rod ....