small boat spots

Thread: small boat spots

small boat spots

Big E & Rocket both managed to get a day off from the salt mines and head offshore. weather was crap however we soldiered on both wet and cold. we got about 3miles off Mba and stumbled onto a big school of Mackeral,Tuna & Sharks just smashin bait balls. hhmmmmmm shall we? hooks off slugs on. cast wind cast wind cast wind faster BANG!! ....... tie new slug on try again , cast wi...YEEHAAAA!!!!!!! anyhow after about an hour of "hey mate when your done with the gaff can i have it " we kept about Five each & let heaps go. fun was had by all (well maybe not the spots)

Score ..... not that anyone keeps count
    Spots ....... about 50 (10 kept)
    Slugs ........ everyone i had (about 15)
    Fuel ........ 5L (love that 25 F/S)
    Fun ......... LOTS

Re: small boat spots

more

nice size spots! the spotties are here!
    the spotties are here

markpeta

Top catch there are some huge spotties there.

Vertico looks like the spotties are here but at the same time the crap weather has came with them.

vertico/markpeta yeah they sure are ..make sure you take plenty of slugs .... seem to get bitten off by a second fish once hooked up.

Frank_Oostenbroek

hi bigE,

A very descriptive report!!

Great fish. I am looking forward to getting amongst them.

Frank OO

Sportfish_5

Good stuff and good size spotties

Funny - if they are just arriving here now how come I am hearing of good reports of them down Sth West Rocks way

Luck of the current flow and weather this year meant we probably missed the early ones.

Lemme attem, lemme attem...

Thanks BigE, just the encouragement I needed!

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Yep - they are good size alright - they really hit hard and give a good account of themselves at that size............enjoy your mackerel fillets boys ............another good effort in the not so good weather.

G'day big E havn't done much mackerall fishing myself and was just curious if you use wire trace when casting slugs for the spotty mackerall or do you just use a heavy mono trace.

cheers pete.

indy wire will put em off some days other days you could use trailer wire and still nail em... this day they were THICK and wire was ok ............. i prefer to tie the main line straight to the wire and DO NOT USE a swivel as the macs will hit the swivel and bust you off every time. speed is the key when your winding flat out thats almost fast enough. lots of luck and ask Q? if your not sure plenty of ideas and good advise on this site if you ask right.

Regards E

Frank Rhys Phill & Greg thanks for replies hope get to get to dong a few they go hard and dont give up & taste nice to boot (being makein nuggets with em and dippen them in tie green curry and coconut milk)

E

Ausfish Platinum Member Big_Ren's Avatar

Macks...Yum Yum Yum....Honey and soy sauce heated and drizzled over fillets of spotty [smiley=chef.gif] [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] Can't beat it.

Cheers and well done Big E, Rocket

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Hi Big E

some solid looking fish- good on ya- sounded a great session ,weather a side.
    Yeeeeeha- bring on the spotties , hmmmm plus some better weather for us poor little boat owners

best regards lew

Thanks Lew

And your not wrong Paul good tucker