Thread: 'Big Bruns Cobia'

'Big Bruns Cobia'

With the weather near perfect the past few days I thought there would have been a lot more reports posted. Maybe everyone is 'braining' them and are too tired to type.
    Well heres a post from northern NSW for the past few days to get you ready for the weekend.
    The weather for inshore pelagic hunting has been perfect, water is clearing up after the heavy rainfall we experienced the past few weeks, the wind has been light offshore in the mornings and the fish have been coming on the chew.
    Yesterday and today large schools of cobia have been terrorising bait schools on the local reef with the odd spotty mackerel, yellowfin tuna and kingfish also hitting any offering.
    Live baits, dead baits and lures have all produced fish. Most of the cobes have ranged from 8 to 25 kilo.
    Photo is my good mate 'Roundy' with his biggest one today. We have been extremely lucky as there has only been him and myself fishing in this particular area!
    Cant wait to go get out there again tomorrow with the fly gear!
    PS. Sorry, I've saved the good shots for next months BNB.
    "May your ratchet keep screamin"
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

Re: 'Big Bruns Cobia'

Quote Originally Posted by mono
    With the weather near perfect the past few days I thought there would have been a lot more reports posted. Maybe everyone is 'braining' them and are too tired to type.
    This confirms you 'mexicans' are on another planet. Its been a "blowout" here in SEQ lately with only the brave, foolhardy & desperate venturing out.

Nice cobe - shame about the socks

MalM
    Haines Hunter 650 'Horizon' 200 4st Johnson (aka Suk DF200) call sign "Dozer" or "Uripper"

whats the go with the gumboots and socks mono
    very nice cobia

Yeah mono. if you call 25knotts good weather id hate to go out with you in bad weather, lol
    Nice fish for sure!
    What i want to know is, what the first fish landed on the new rig is, im guessing a yakka! mustn't be far off now! ...foxy

Hi MalM, I dont know whats going on, the mornings down here have been perfect (5 to 8knts offshore). Arvo's the wind comes around to the se but still not too strong!?
    Yeh Dale I'm glad he wears 'rubber' boots, at least it covers up THOSE socks!
    Foxy, yes mate 3 more sleeps and I'll be driving her home to put in her new airberth bed! Shes been basically finished since xmas but due to no glass, no boat. I actually drove up to Brissy yesterday and parked 2 feet from the glass companies front door and said I was not leaving until I had my windows which were ordered 14 weeks ago! I got them after a 4 hour wait, but they are now fitted (today) and the crane comes on monday to get her out of the factory. Yaahoo. Cant wait. She looks AWESOME. Nugget came down last week and seen her and agrees. I think Nugget is coming down for the maiden voyage. I'll post some pictures when she arrives.
    In the meantime, I'm still fishin out of the 13ft 'Mongrel'. Its looking abit worse for wear but it certainly is a bit of a fish magnet.
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

Wow Mono - Awesome cobe - Well done to Roundy and you.

Quote Originally Posted by mono
    ... Shes been basically finished since xmas but due to no glass, no boat. I actually drove up to Brissy yesterday and parked 2 feet from the glass companies front door and said I was not leaving until I had my windows which were ordered 14 weeks ago! I got them after a 4 hour wait, but they are now fitted (today) ....
    How incredibly frustrating for you. I hope that their front door only opened outwards so they were trapped - nice move Mono. A shame though that high quality "Customer Service" is fast becoming a rarerly encountered trait these days.

I wish for you that it's all smooth sailing from here (pardon the pun).

Macca

Thanks Macca,
    hopefully this weather holds out for the trip from Ballina up to Brunswick on Monday!
    I've been extremely frustrated but I feel sorry for Darren, the boss of Sailfish, who had my boat sitting in their factory since chrissy taking up room and not being able to be paid because the glass hasn'd arrived. I wont mention the glass bussiness but needless to say Sailfish has gone to another supplier for future bussiness.
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc

Mono,

Well 3 days have past !!!

Lets see some pics to make us slobba

Craigie.

Hi Craigie, how are ya? Yes shes finally in the water. Nugget has posted some pics in 'generel' section. And yes even I'm still drolling. Shes been in the water for about thirty hours and I've been on her for 26 of those!! I'll post some pictures as soon as I can get out to sea and 'blood' her.
    www.ausfish.com.au/bpc