aj
left the ramp at loolabah at 9.30pm fridy headed north of the barwons with birdy,rhees and paul . things were quiet all night with only a few small pearlies and stuff so after a few beers and a feed i had a camp for a few hours till sun up . awoke to a flat sea nil wind and great sunrise, wasnt long before birdy had a cobe to the boat that belted his pilly on the retrieve so with that i give me squid the hurryup and after a dozen winds cobe 2 was on its way up only to shake the hook on the surface. we moved to another spot in 70m of water and berleyed the #### out of it ............... then it started with rhees and self goin snappa 4 snappa on every drop up to 6-7kg on the starboard side of the boat and dropped a few good solid fish as well . they went quiet 4 a while then i hooked a freight train that took ages to get colour on holy crap me first amberjack ever and around 7-8kg.we continued on at the same spot for a while with more snappa and mixed others before we trolled a mixed spread of pushers and minnows for about an hour only to stumble on a rock that rose from 75m to 40m and was loaded with bait and larger shows , quick meeting and we turned and proceeded to drift it . we scored sum nice parrot and pearlies then on the second pass i was on to another brute on me light rod after a few mixed calls from the crew ranging from good nobbie to cobe i lifted a 5kg coronation trout aboard , what an awesome lookin toothy critter.
we called it at 12midday and flew home at 58k per hour on a non existant swell with the 150litre esky full as a doctors wallet . was a great trip with great company ,,,,,,,,,, next please .
swano
rhees
thanx again for letting me be a part of another "FLAMING RIPTIDE" adventure , really do enjoy the time spent with you and the crew every outing , i raise my glass to you
my tally must be up to 3 cartons of crownies now ehh
swano
It was a great night/day out there with a great crew once again,the fishing and general banter on the Flamin Riptide makes every trip out more than enjoyable.
Can't wait till the capt' gets the thing wet again.
Birdy
nice fish guys
rhees i new that FLAMING RIPTIDE" will be fish magnet
cheers no_luck
Well done...top pic, how about those colours
great read swano and super catch. No wonder Mondays are such a drag after the weekend you have just had. Look how flat the ocean was, not for long though....
issued 0436 Monday]
DOUBLE ISLAND POINT TO COOLANGATTA
Monday until midnight: NE/E winds 10/15 knots, increasing to 15/20 knots late
afternoon or evening. Seas 1.2 metres rising to 1.7 metres later. Isolated
showers.
Tuesday: E/SE winds 15/20 knots.
Wednesday: SE winds 15/20 knots increasing to 20/25 knots overnight.
Thursday: SE winds 20/25 knots.
great story and pics swano
cheers tim
Top report and great pics.
I think I saw Rhys's "FLAMING RIPTIDE" comin back down the Bruce highway at about 2:30pm - we were on our way up to the sunny coast for a wedding - would've thought the Bride and Groom would've had better sense than to not cancel the wedding on a weekend of weather like that!!!!
great eating them trout..
"whats the time"
NIce trout! Pulled one 6kg 2 weeks ago on the banks!
Well done mate!
Mitch
great fish swano!!
Hi Maccamania...that would've been us...damn inconsiderate of your bride and groom...I could've done the wedding on the water for them and still had all the guests hooking up
Hi fidel...the riptide is certainly fishing well...must be those flames that spark their curiosity...better than berley... although you'd better ask Swano about that...
Swano, birdy yeah guys we'll do it again...you blokes are good for boat tax...not just the fish but the cartons for fish lost!!!
Birdy, you must've kissed a chinaman (not fish) or something ...I've never seen a bloke have such a shocker...tangles, jagging the bottom and callin them 40 lb cobia...even taking to wearing "the pink shoes" by feeling sorry for the blighter and swapping my spot on the boat to fish from...oh well, we all have one of those days don't we???
The banter WAS THICK...."haven't you got that thing in yet ya galoot" "It's going off" "It'll have maggots on it by the time you get it up" "another 40lb cobia birdy???" "must be a yakka", "I'll break out the devonshire teas while we wait"...had me in stitches...
Swano totally loaded up on a light outfit with a Diawa legend screamin' its head off had me ROFLMAO
I'm thinking of starting the "Flaming' Riptide" anger management school just for Birdy...
Lession Number one...the gaff is to hook the cobia into the boat, not hit it on the head so it will go away!!!!!
Lesson number 2...when hooked up to a 40lb Cobia...pretend its just the plug!!!! it removes the disappointment factor when you drop it (another Carton for boat tax mate)
Our mate Paul had a slow trip but boated a couple of nice squirey/snappery things.
Swano the Barfer to Swano the Barker...what a transformation mate...loved going fish for fish with you...to see you grin with a glint in the eye and the net around another "just legal" 6kg snapper, to pullin' in the AJ and that Coronation Trout a couple of firsts was a PEARLER...
and to get a PB snapper personally in the midst of it all topped off a fantastic trip...Birdy, that Rovex Big Boss 7500 matched to that penn sport fast taper rod is a monster shifting outfit...very impressed
In the words of a well known fishing journalist..."I just sensed that fish was about to bite so presented the bait in just such a manner to entice the strike" And GUYS you don't need to be the great "Swano" to catch fish like he does!!!!
Glad to be apart of it all...will do it again, 'til next time
rhys
><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)
Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel
Good report and pics guys, thats a solid trout.
Luke